PSL 2018 – Match 30: Islamabad United versus Karachi Kings

PSL 2018: Schedule
Match Basics
Match: Islamabad United versus Karachi Kings
Date: 17th March, 2018
Ground: Sharjah Cricket Stadium
Umpires:Β Khalid Mahmood, Aleem Dar
Toss won by: Karachi Kings, elected to field first
Scorecard Summary
1st Team Play: 124 all out (19 Overs, RR: 6.52)
Batting: Asif Ali 34 runs off 14 balls, CAK Walton 21 runs off 17 balls.
Bowling: Usman Khan 4/17 in 4 overs, Shahid Afridi 2/18 in 4 overs.
Target: 125runs from 20 overs.
2ND Team Play: 125/3 (17 Overs, RR: 7.35)
Batting: JL Denly 36 runs off 28 balls, CA ingram 31runs off 30 balls.
Bowling: Shadab Khan1/22 in 4 overs, Faheem Ashraf 1/13 in 3 overs.
Player of the match:Β Usman Khan
Result: Karachi Kings won by 7 wickets (with 18 balls remaining)
Highlights & Analysis
1. An Usman Khan Shinwari-led Karachi Kings team orchestrated a massive victory which helped them qualify for the playoff stage of the competition. Backed up by Mohmamad Amir and Tymal Mills, the 23 year old ripped through Islamabad’s top order and left it in tatters. The table toppers were never able to recover and finished with a meagre total on the board.

2.Aside from an aggressive innings from Denly, the Karachi batsmen batted leisurely and at their own pace. Babar Azam and Colin Ingram played calm innings to see their side through and avoided any hiccups. Such was their dominance that the batsmen finished with three overs still in the bank.
3.Islamabad, whose six-match winning streak meant they were guaranteed top spot before Friday’s double-header, were especially conservative with their team selection, leaving out key performers in Luke Ronchi, Samit Patel and Mohammad Sami. This team selection combined with a drop in intensity, possibly because of this effectively being a dead rubber for them, meant the United slumped to an unfamiliar defeat.
4.Islamabad still remain top of the tree while Karachi climb up to second place. The Quetta Gladiators and the Peshawar Zalmi fill up the other two remaining playoff spots. The Lahore Qalandars and Multan Sultans, on the other hand, have been knocked out.

Karachi Kings: Islamabad United:
Imad Wasim (C)
Khurram Manzoor
Shahid Afridi
Babar Azam
Colin Ingram
Ravi Bopara
Muhammad Amir
Tymal Mills
Muhammad Irfan
Muhammad Rizwan (WK)
Joe Denly
David Wiese
Muhammad Taha
Hassan Mohsin
Usama Mir
Misbah-ul-Haq (c)
Alex Hales
Sam Billings
Mohammad Hasan
Chadwick Walton
Rohail Nazir
Luke Ronchi
Amad Butt
JP Duminy
Hussain Talat
Samit Pate
Andre Russell
Shadab Khan
Faheem Ashraf
Samuel Badree
Steven Finn
Mohammad Sami
Rumman Raees
Zafar Gohar

For updates regularly visit: Allsportspk



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here