5th Asian Champions Trophy 2018: Day 5 – Pakistan & Malaysia Win

5th Asian Champions Trophy 2018
Aleem Bilal the hat trick scorer in 5th Asian Champions Trophy 2018 match against Oman

OMAN: In their third match of the round robin phase, Pakistan annihilated Oman 8-1 at the Hero Asian Champions Trophy Hockey Tournament at the Sultan Qaboos Sports Complex in Muscat, Oman.

Against the 33rd ranked hosts, the 13th ranked Pakistan scored four in each half with the Omani goal
arriving in the last seconds of the match via their third penalty corner of the evening.

Five of Pakistan’s goals came off penalty corners where Aleem Bilal shone with three conversions.
Oman had their best spell in the third quarter when through swift turn overs they entered the Pakistani circle quite a few times and created chances including two penalty corners. But they were let down
by poor finishing.

Pakistan now has two wins and one loss.


  • Pakistan: Aleem Bilal 3 (PC), M.Irfan Jr, Shakeel Ammad Butt (PC), M.Irfan Sr (PC), Abubakr Mahmood & Attique Arshad
  • Oman: Mohammad Al Lawati (PC)

Malaysia Vs Korea

Malaysia, the Asian Games silver medallists beat South Korea 4-2 registered their third consecutive victory Asian Champions Trophy at the Sultan Qaboos Sports Complex. With this they are step closer to a place in the semi-finals.

Malaysia will play India, on Tuesday in the league match. This will be the first encounter between the two teams, since having played the semi-final in the Asian Games, Jakarta in which Malaysia unexpectedly beat India and entered the final.

Malaysia are now level on nine points with India from three matches each at the top of the standings.

In match with Korea, the Malaysian were the first to score in the 11th minute through Firhan Ashari, however, the Koreans struck back with a 2-1 lead with goals by Yang Ji-Hun and Jang Jong-Hyun in 15th and 20th minutes respectively.

Shahril Saabah levelled the Malaysia score in the 22nd minute, but the final result in favour of Malaysia was decided by goals from Tengku Tajuddin in 35th minute) and Faizal Saari in 57th minute.

For more updates about Asian Champions Trophy 2018 keep visiting allsportspk