PSL 2018: Schedule
Match Basics
Match 24:Lahore Qalandars versus Karachi Kings.
Date: 11th March, 2018.
Ground: Dubai International Cricket Stadium.
Umpires: Aleem Dar, Tim Robinson.
Toss won by:Lahore Qalandars, elected to field first.
Scorecard Summary
1st Team Play: 163/5 (20 Overs, RR: 8.15).
Batting: Shane Watson 47 runs off 32 balls, RR Rossouw 37 runs off 25 balls.
Bowling: Umaid Asif 2/18 in 4 overs, Wahab Riaz 2/16 in 4 overs.
Target: 164 runs from 20 overs.
2ND Team Play: 163/8 (20 Overs, RR: 8.15)
Batting: Agha Salman 50 runs off 45 balls, Fakhar Zaman 28 runs off 26 balls.
Bowling: Imad Wasim 1/27 in 4 overs, Mohammad Irfan 2/35 in 4 overs.
Player of the match: Agha Salman
Result: Match tied (Lahore Qalandars won the one-over eliminator).
Highlights & Analysis
    1. It is almost a guarantee that something bizarre will happen when the Lahore Qalandars step onto a cricketing field. Time after time this season, they have been involved in matches that have left supporters emotionally drained and neutrals bemused. This match perhaps best epitomized everything about the Lahore Qalandars. Once again, after having worked hard to get into a winning position, the Lahore Qalandars nearly threw it all away. After gaining a strong position in the chase, mainly because of Agha Salman’s decent knock, the Lahore Qalandars lost a flurry of wickets and almost lost the game in the regulation overs. Fortunately for them, the lower order batsmen somehow managed to tie the game and take it to the Super Over. After being given some runs on the board by skipper McCullum, Sunil Narine showed his magic and gave Lahore their second victory of the tournament.
    2. Karachi played well for most of the match but didn’t have the luck needed to get them over the line.In fact, had it not been for a no ball on the last ball of the final regulation over, a Super Over would not have even been required and Karachi would have won. The Super Over did happen though, and Karachi missed a chance to go top. Karachi have no time to bemoan their loss though and will have to pick themselves up for the crucial games up ahead. They will be hoping that captain Imad Wasim, impressive in the tournament so far, recovers completely until then after having been injured while taking a catch against Lahore.
    3. Today’s match has also started a debate on no-ball rules. As a run was taken off the no-ball delivery bowled by Usman Khan, most cricket watchers believe that Lahore should have had to score one run off one ball and not two runs off one ball in the end. Had that been the case, Lahore could have won the game without a Super Over. Cricket viewers point to no-ball rules which state:
      ”Any runs completed by the batsmen or any boundary allowance shall be credited to the striker if the ball has been struck by the bat; otherwise they shall also be scored as Byes or Leg byes as appropriate.”
      The umpires, however, justified their decision to not add a run to Lahore’s tally by saying that the ball was caught before the run had been completed. Hence, according to them, the ball was adjudged as dead and no run was counted. Despite this explanation, many fans remain skeptical as the rules do not offer the sort of clarity that is required to make a confident decision on the matter.
    4. Lahore have now picked up two wins and four points. However, their tournament is over as they are rock bottom of the table. Karachi remain third and still very much in the mix for qualification for the final rounds.
Lahore Qalandars Peshawar Zalmi
Brendon Mccullum (c)
Cameron Delport
Umer Akmal
Fakhar Zaman
Ghulam Mudassir
Amir Yamin
Yasir Shah
Sunil Narine
Agha Salman
Bilal Asif
Sohail Khan
Raza Hassan
Sohail Akhtar
Shaheen Afridi
Anton Devcich
Mictchell McClenaghan
Mustafiz ur Rehman
Gulriaz Sadaf
Salman Irshad
Imran Khan Jr.
Kyle Abbott
Denesh Ramdin
Imad Wasim (skipper)
Khurram Manzoor
Shahid Afridi
Babar Azam
Colin Ingram
Ravi Bopara
Muammad Amir
Tymal Mills
Muhammad Irfan
Muhammad Rizwan (wicket-keeper)
Joe Denly
David Wiese
Muhammad Taha
Hassan Mohsin
Usama Mir
For updates regularly visit: Allsportspk



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here