PSL 2019-Qualifier: Quetta Gladiators Become 1st Finalist

PSL 2019 Peshawar Zalmi Vs Quetta Gladiators

PSL 2019
PSL 2019
Match Basics
PSL 4: Peshawar Zalmi Vs Quetta Gladiators
Date: 13th March 2019
Venue: National Stadium, Karachi
Umpires: Ranmore Martinesz , Ahsan Raza
Toss won by: Peshawar Zalmi, decided to ball first
Scorecard Summary
Quetta Gladiators Innings: 186/6 (20 Overs)
Batting: SR Watson 71 off 43 balls, Ahsan Ali 46 off 32 balls
Bowling: Wahab Riaz 2/26 from 4 overs, TS Mills 1/21 from 4 overs
Target:187 runs from 20 overs
Peshawar Zalmi Innings: 176/7 (20 Overs)
Batting: Kamran Akmal22 off 26 balls,  Imam-ul-Haq 23 off 18 balls
Bowling: Mohammed Hasnain 2/14 from 3 overs, Mohammed Nawaz 1/25                        from 4 overs
Result: Quetta Gladiators won by 10 Runs
Man of the Match: Shane Watson
Quetta Gladiators Innings

Winning the toss Peshawar Zalmi Captain opted to ball first, keeping in view the ability of the team and pitch calculations.

Toss update ➡️ @PeshawarZalmi win the toss and elect to field first.#HBLPSL #KhelDeewanoKa #PZvQG

In pursuit of advancing a level up against the opponent team, Watson, Ahmed and Ahsan Ali opened the match with a solid start based on a strong partnership strategy.

Ahmed Shehzad scored a single and departed but it still did not affect the batsman to come.

For team Quetta the upper order has always been the backbone of their batting lineup. Continuing this tradition,  the first batsmen to perform, have altogether scored 61% of the team’s runs in this edition – the highest among all teams in PSL 2019.

The bowlers from the Zalmi especially Wahab Riaz managed to control the boundaries being hit by the strong purple-suited batsmen. Of the bowlers to have balled 5+ overs at a death, no bowler has a lower economy rate than Wahab’s. However, this time even with a satisfactory bowling strategy, Zalmi could not tilt the match to their side.

The Quetta Gladiators Innings concluded with a target of 187 Runs.

Peshawar Innings

With a reasonable target to be chased, from Peshawar Zalmi, Kamran Akmal and Imam-ul-Haq came in to bat. From team Quetta, Mohammed Nawaz and Sohail Tanvir shared the ball.

Zalmi’s hopes started shrinking from start when the openers Kamran and Imam could not click. The Peshawar bowling was not that impressive but the fielders proved to very extremely vigilant to perform well and minimize the score.

The batting performance from Zalmis was not up to the mark as none of the batsman could make a mark and the upper and lower batting order moreover collapsed.

The end result was that Zalmis batting lineup floated on an absolute low wave and were unable to make it to the winning position, as the target of 187 runs could not be chased. Kamran and Imam were the only batsmen who were able to score above 20.

ENd reslut was that the Qualifier match of PSL-4 was won by Quetta Gladiators by 10 runs.

For more cricketing updates keep visiting allsportspk.

Quetta Gladiators Peshawar Zalmi
SR Watson

Ahmed Shehzad

Ahsan Ali

RR Rossouw

Umar Akmal

Sarfraz Ahmed

DJ Bravo

Mohammad Nawaz

Sohail Tanvir

Mohammad Hussnain

Fawad Ahmed

Kamran Akmal

Sameen Gul

TS Mills

Sohaib Maqsood


KA Pollard

LA Dason

DJG Sammy (c)

Wahab Riaz

Hasan Ali


For updates regularly visit: Allsportspk