FWA Player of the Year: Mohamed Salah Earns Another Award

Mohamed Salah has been in the news ever since he made his debut for Liverpool. The 25-year old is leading the charts of Premier league with 31 goals to his name so far.


Salah, who was born in Egypt played for Chelsea before he was sold to A.S Roma, after which he was bought by Liverpool in a £39.5m summer signing. However, even Liverpool did not expect this player to play the way he did and because of him the club stands 3rd on the premier league table.

The Egyptian has also been awarded generously for his past performances by winning several major awards. Recently, he won another one as the Salah was named the Football Writer’s Association Player of the Year.

This is the first time that a player from Egypt has won this award.

How did Salah Win this award?

Salah was not alone in contention of winning this award as two other players namely Kevin de Bruyne and Harry Kane were also pretty confident of winning this award.

Although, Harry Kane did not get enough votes from the panel of 400 FWA members. However, it was de Bruyne that only got 20 less votes than Salah as the Liverpool star won the award.

However, FWA Chairman Patrick Barclay was of the opinion that De Bruyne should have won the award as you can only judge a player by victories, and De Bruyne is as good as it gets.

But, Salah has been phenomenal this season and his riveting form in this season means that he absolutely deserved this award.

Moreover, Salah is only the 6th player to have won this award; A proud record.

Football Transfers: Mohamed Salah to Stay at Liverpool

What’s next for Salah?

Currently, Salah leads the premier league goal scoring charts with 31 goals closely followed by Tottenham striker, Harry Kane who stands at 27 goals.

But, if Mohamed Salah continues this form, he can potentially win the Premier League Golden Boot for scoring the most goals this season.

For updates regularly visit: Allsportspk


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here