South Africa Vs Sri Lanka – 2nd Test: Day 3

South Africa Vs Sri Lanka
Test Series
West Indies Vs Sri lanka
Match Basics
2nd Test Match – Day 3: South Africa Vs Sri Lanka
Date:Β 22nd July, 2018
Venue:Β Sinhalese Sports Club Groung, Colombo
Umpires: Rod Tucker, Nigel Llong
Toss won by: Sri Lanka, elected to bat first.
Scorecard Summary
Sri Lanka’s 2nd Innings:Β 275/5d (81 Overs, RR: 3.39)
Performers (Day 3):
Batting:Β Karunaratne 85 off 136 balls, Kusal Mendis 18 off 27 balls, Angelo Matthews 71 off 147 balls, Roshen Silva 32 off 99 balls.
Bowling:Β Keshav Maharaj 3/154 in 40 overs, Lungi Ngidi 1/9 in 9 overs.
South Africa’s 2nd Innings:Β 139/5 (41 Overs, RR: 3.39)
Performers (Day 3):
Batting:Β Dean Elgar 37 off 80 balls, De Bruyn 45* off 97balls, T Bavuma 14* off 17 balls.
Bowling:Β Rangana Herath 2/54 in 15 overs, Dilruwan Perera 1/38 in 16 overs, Akila Dananjaya 2/35 in 10 overs.

Highlights & Analysis
South Africa Vs Sri lanka: Sri Lanka 2nd Innings(continued)

  • On Day 3 of this test, the cracks on this pitch were beginning to appear.
  • With a solid lead of 365 runs to their side, Sri Lankan batsmen, Karunaratne and Matthews walked out to bat. For South Africa, Maharaj and Rabada shared the ball from each end.

South Africa Vs Sri Lanka

  • The pair extended their partnership to 63 after which Karunaratne fell 15 runs short of his century; courtesy of Ngidi’s excellent line & length.
  • Roshen Silva joined Angelo Matthews. The pair took the lead above 450 and Matthews reached his half century.

South Africa Vs Sri Lanka

  • The pair shared 64 runs in this partnership after which Maharaj claimed the wicket of Matthews.
  • Dickwella joined Roshen Silva as Sri Lanka targeted a total of 500.

  • Both batsmen took the lead to 490 and surprisingly, Lakmal declared the innings on 490, just 10 short of an even 500.

South Africa Vs Sri Lanka: South Africa 2nd Innings

  • With 491 runs required to win this test, Proteas openers, Dean Elgar and Aiden Markram walked out to bat.
  • As usual, Lakmal gave the ball to his two trusted spinners; Herath & Dilruwan.

South Africa Vs Sri Lanka

  • A shaky start was witnessed by the openers and it was only a matter of time before Herath claimed the wicket of Markram.

South Africa Vs Sri Lanka

  • De Bruyn joined Dean Elgar. The pair added another 19 runs to the total after which tea was called on Day 3 of this test(South Africa Vs Sri Lanka).
  • Post tea, the pair continued to cash on Sri Lanka’s on-field sloppiness and took the partnership to 38 runs.

South Africa Vs Sri Lanka

  • However, Lankans remained confident and finally Perera broke this stand by claiming the wicket of Dean Elgar.

South Africa Vs Sri Lanka

  • Hashim Amla joined De Bruyn and after struggling for 6 overs, the batsman departed off Herath’s bowling.

South Africa Vs Sri Lanka

  • At this point, South Africa had lost 3 wickets and still needed 391 runs to win this match. Now, the South African captain, Du Plessis joined De Bruyn.

South Africa Vs Sri Lanka

  • The pair could only add 13 more runs after which Dananjaya claimed the wicket of Du Plessis.
  • Maharaj came in as the nightwatchman but he departed on the very next ball to Dananjaya.

  • South Africa had now lost half of their wickets and still needed 378 run to win this test.
  • Bavuma joined De Bruyn. The pair added 26 runs to the total and did not lose their wickets.
  • South Africa ended the day on 139 runs with 5 wickets in hand. This means that they would have to make 352 runs in the next two days or get clean sweeped by Sri Lanka.

Β South Africa Vs Sri Lanka – 2nd Test Day 1: Maharaj Takes Eight; Proteas On Top

South Africa Vs Sri Lanka – 2nd Test Day 2: Proteas Struggle Against Spin; Lankans In The Lead

This is the end of South Africa Vs Sri Lanka 2nd Test, Day 3. Join allsportpk tomorrow for the 2nd day of South Africa Vs Sri Lanka 2nd Test Day 4.

Sri Lanka South Africa

A Dananjaya

AD Mathews

ARS Silva

BKG Mendis

DM de Silva

FDM Karunaratne

HMRKB Herath

MD Gunathilaka

MDK Perera

N Dickwella (Wkt.)

RAS Lakmal (Capt.)

AK Markram

D Elgar

DW Steyn

F du Plessis (Capt.)

HM Amla

K Rabada

KA Maharaj

L Ngidi

Q de Kock (Wkt.)

T Bavuma

TB de Bruyn

For updates regularly visit: Allsportspk


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here