Jamie Vardy scored 23 goals during the present season of Premier League to win his maiden golden boot award.

Although, Vardy failed to score in the final match against Manchester United and his team Leicester lost the final match of Champions League. However, Vardy still had the goal lead compared to number two position players.

Vardy playing at forward position from  Leicester City, is the third Englishman to win the Golden Boot award during this century. Kevin Phillipswas the first to win the award in 2016 -17 and Harry Kane was the second to win the award in 2000.

Premier League’s top goal-scorers of 2019-20:

1Jamie VardyLeicester City23
2Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Danny IngsArsenal  and Southampton22
4Raheem SterlingManchester City20
5Mohamed SalahLiverpool19
6Harry Kane and Sadio ManeTottenham Hotspur and Liverpool18

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang shared second place with Ings by scoring 22 goals. Interestingly, Ings’ has scored superb 7 goals since the restart of the League after the Coronavirus lockdown.

Vardy is the oldest player aged 33 to claim the prize in Premier League history. The previous oldest winner was Didier Drogba who won the award at age of 32 with 29 goals in 2009-10 and led Chelsea to the Premier League title victory. Whereas, Nicolas Anelka is the youngest player to win the award at age of 30 years with Chelsea in 2008-09.

During last season the golden boot award winners were Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Sadio Mane and Mohamed Salah who finished joint-highest scorer.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here