West Indies vs Bangladesh 3rd T20

West Indies vs Bangladesh
T20 Series
            Match Basics
3rd T20: West Indies Vs Bangladesh
Date: 6th August, 2018
Venue: Central Broward Regional Park Stadium Turf Ground, Lauderhill
Umpires: Gregory Brathwaite, Nigel Duguid
Toss won by: Bangladesh, elected to bat first
Scorecard Summary
Bangladesh Innings: 184/5 (20 Overs, RR: 9.2)
Batting: Liton Das 61 off 32 balls, Tamim Iqbal 21 off 13 balls, Shakib Al Hasan 24 off 22 balls, Mahmudullah 32 off 20 balls, Ariful Haque 18 off 16 balls
Bowling: Carlos Brathwaite 2/32 in 4 overs, Keemo Paul 2/26 in 3 overs, Kesrick Williams 1/32 in 4 overs
Target: 185 from 20 overs.

West Indies Innings: 135/7 (17.1 Overs, RR: 7.86)
Batting: Andre Russell 47 off 21 balls, Dinesh Ramdin 21 off 18 balls, R Powell 23 off 20 balls, Chadwick Walton 19 off 19 balls.
Bowling: Mustafizur Rahman 3/31 in 3.1 overs, Rubel Hossain 1/28 in 4 overs, Abu Hider 1/27 in 3 overs, Shakib Al Hasan 1/22 in 4 overs, Soumya Sarka 1/18 in 2.3 overs.
Result: Bangladesh won by 18 runs (D/L method)
Man of the Match: Liton Das
Highlights & Analysis
West Indies Vs Bangladesh: 1st Innings

  • Having won one match each of this 3 match T20 series, West Indies and Bangladesh began their decisive match which would decide the winner of this series.
  • Shakib Al Hasan went with their last match’s winning strategy as he chose to bat first after winning the toss.
  • Bangladesh openers, Liton Das and Tamim Iqbal came out to bat. For West Indies, the new ball was shared by the spinners, Badree and Nurse.

  • Surprisingly, no quick wickets were witnessed in the first overs as the pair began to amass runs at an impressive run rate.

West Indies Vs Bangladesh

  • Tamim and Liton Das continued to hit boundaries and the fifty run partnership came up in only 4 overs.
  • Now, the West Indies captain brought himself into the attack. And he struck straightaway as he took the wicket of the dangerous Tamim Iqbal.
  • Soumya Sarkar joined Liton Das, but his lean batting form continued as he lost his wicket to Keemo Paul in the very next over.
  • At this point, Bangladesh were 2 wickets down with 66 runs on the board and still more than 14 overs left in the innings.

  • Mushfiqur Rahim joined Liton Das. The pair added another 31 runs to the total as Liton Das reached his first maiden half century in T20 cricket.

  • Soon this partnership was broken by Carlos Brathwaite as Mushfiqur Rahim lost his wicket after scoring only 12 runs.

  • Now, the Bangladesh captain, Shakib Al Hasan joined Liton Das. Bangladesh’s total crossed the 100 run mark but in the very same over Liton Das departed off Kesrick William’s bowling.

West Indies Vs Bangladesh

  • At this point, Bangladesh were 4 wickets down with 102 runs on the board.
  • Mahmudullah joined Shakib Al Hasan. The pair continued Bangladesh’s attacking momentum as another quick 44 runs were added to the total.
  • However, Shakib could not hold on and lost his wicket to Keemo Paul.

  • Now, with 5 overs left in the innings, Ariful Haque joined Mahmudullah. This is when rain stopped play for a brief amount of time.

  • Post the rain break, play resumed and the two batsmen made full use of the dew factor as they notched up 38 runs from the last overs.
  • Bangladesh finished on 184 runs, a slightly below par total, considering the dew factor and Windies strong batting line-up.

West Indies Vs Bangladesh: 2nd Innings

  • With 185 runs required to win this match and claim the T20 series, Windies openers, Walton and Fletcher came out to bat.
  • For Bangladesh, the new ball was shared between Abu Hider and Rubel Hossain from each end.
  • A decent start was made the opening pair as they reached 20 runs in 3 overs.
  • Now, Bangladesh’s strike bowler, Mustafizur Rahman was induced into the attack. And, he struck straightaway by claiming the wicket of Fletcher.

  • Marlon Samuels joined Chadwick Walton. Nazmul Islam was introduced into the attack, however after injuring himself he was walked off the field and Soumya Sarkar was given the ball instead.

  • The part time bowler struck in his very first over as Chadwick Walton lost his wicket.
  • At this point, Windies were 2 wickets down for 30 runs with 15 overs left in the innings.
  • Powell joined Marlon Samuels. But, this partnership also lasted one over, as Shakib Al Hasan struck in the last over of powerplay to claim the wicket of Samuels.

  • Dinesh Ramdin joined Powell, with Windies needing 153 runs to win from 14 overs.
  • The pair did not lose their wickets and added 45 runs to the total to put Windies back on track.
  • This partnership was finally broken by Rubel Hossain who got the wicket of Ramdin.

  • Now, the dangerous Russell joined Powell and he started off straight away by hitting boundaries and putting pressure back on Bangladesh.
  • Powell lost his wicket in the next over, as Brathwaite joined Russell who kept hitting boundaries and took simplified the equation to 64 from 24 balls.

  • However, the 17th and 18th over proved to be the lucky ones for Bangladesh as first Brathwaite lost his wicket and then Russell got out in the very next over.

  • This is when rain stopped play again.

  • And unfortunately for Bangladesh, the rain did not stop as Bangladesh won the match by Duck-Lewis method with a margin of 18 runs.

West Indies Vs Bangladesh – 2nd T20: Bangladesh Clinch Last Over Win; Level The Series

West Indies Vs Bangladesh – 1st T20: Kesrick, Russell Power Windies To An Easy Win

West Indies Vs Bangladesh – 2nd ODI: Hetmyer’s Century, Holder’s Brilliance Levels The Series

West Indies Vs Bangladesh – 3rd ODI: Tamim, Mahmudullah Ensure A Series Win

This is the end of West Indies Vs Bangladesh T20 Series. For more cricketing updates keep visiting allsportspk.

West Indies Bangladesh
AD Russell

ADS Fletcher

AR Nurse

CAK Walton

CR Brathwaite (Capt.)

D Ramdin (Wkt.)

KMA Paul

KOK Williams

MN Samuels

R Powell

S Badree

Abu Hider

Ariful Haque

Liton Das


Mushfiqur Rahim (Wkt.)

Mustafizur Rahman

Nazmul Islam

Rubel Hossain

Shakib Al Hasan (Capt.)

Soumya Sarkar

Tamim Iqbal

For updates regularly visit: Allsportspk