Champions Trophy Match Peek Review: Pakistan into the Semis will face England

champions trophy

Match Basics

Match: Pakistan vs Sri Lanka

Group: B

Date: 12th June

Ground: Sophia Gardens, Cardiff
Umpires: B.N.J. Oxenford, Australia and M. Erasmus, South Africa

Toss won by: Pakistan and decided to field

Scorecard Summary

1st Team Play: Sri Lanka 236 in 49.2 Overs

–         Performers: Batsman – N. Dickwella 73.

Bowlers – Junaid Khan 3 for 40,  Hasan Ali 3 for 43.


Target: 237


2nd Team Play: Pakistan 237 for 7 in 44.5 Overs

–         Performers: Batsman – Sarfraz Kahn 61 Not Out, Fakhar Khan 50

Bowler – N. Pardeep 3 for 60


Result: Pakistan won by 3 wickets

Man of Match: Sarfraz Ahmed, Pakistan

Champions Trophy Standings: as of 12.6.2017 – Updated: 11:00 pm PST



Angelo Mathews and Niroshan Dickwella built a solid 4th wicket partnership of 75 runs.

– Dickwella kept one side safe and partnered with the 4 top batsmen.

– Pakistan fast bowlers did the damage and had the Sri Lankan wickets falling.

Amir and Junaid made crucial breakthroughs of Matthews  and de Silve

– 2 wickets each on the score in 80’s and then 160’s (161 for 3 to 167  for 7) hampered Sri Lankan batsman.

– Pakistan openers Azhar and Zaman gave a convincing start with a solid 74 runs partnership.

– Sri Lankan shook the Pakistan middle order batting line-up till Sarfraz played the captains innings.

– Sri Lankan poor fielding was an advantage to Pakistan.

– Sarfraz and Amir’s 75 partnership did it all.

– Sohaib Malik the Pakistan veteran played his 250th match.

– Fahim Ashraf was a debutant  from Pakistan side




Azhar Ali

Babar Azam,

Fahim Ashraf,

Fakhar Zaman,

Hasan Ali,

Imad Wasim,

Junaid Khan,

Mohammad Amir,

Mohammad Hafeez,

Sarfraz Ahmed – Captain

Shadab Khan,

Shoaib Malik


Sri Lanka

A.D. Mathews, Captain

A. Gunaratne

B.K.G. Mendis

D.A.S. Gunaratne

L.D. Chandimal

M.D. Gunathilaka

N. Pradeep

N. Dickwella

N.L.T.C. Perera

R.A.S. Lakmal

S.L. Malinga