CWC’19-Match 42: West Indies Vs Afghanistan

Match Basics

CWC 19-Match 42: West Indies VS Afghanistan

Date: 4th July 2019

Venue: Leeds

Umpire: Nigel Llong, Chris Gaffaney

Toss Won by: West Indies, elected to bat first

Scorecard Summary

West Indies Innings: 311/6 – 50 Overs, RR: 6.22


Batting: Shai Hope 77 off 92 balls, Nicholas Pooran 58 off 43 balls, E Lewis 58 off 78 balls.

Bowling: Dawlat Zadran 2/73 in 9 overs, Rashid Khan 1/52 in 10 overs, Muhammad Nabi 1/56 in 10 overs.

Afghanistan’s Innings: 288 All Out (50 overs RR: 5.69)


Batting: Ikram Alikhil 86 off 93 balls, Rehmat Shah 62 off 78 balls, Asghar Afghan 40 off 32 balls.

Bowling: Charlos Brathwaite 4/63 in 9 overs, KAJ Roach 3/37 in 10 overs, Ch Gayle 1/28 in 6 overs.

Highlights &Analysis

West Indies Innings

After failing to qualify in the semifinals stage, West Indies wanted to end their journey on a high with a comprehensive victory.

Afghanistan had a disappointing journey in the tournament as they lost all of their games in tournament, but they had a final chance to win a game.

West Indies opted to bat, after winning the toss. Chris Gayle was on the crease for the final time in a 50 overs world Cup game, as E Lewis joined him.

West Indies could not get an ideal start as their power hitter Gayle was sent back to the pavilion after scoring just 7 runs.

West Indies Vs Afghanistan
Photo: File

E Lewis and SD Hope started playing their shots, while kept rotating strike. Massive six from Lewis against Afghan spinner insured they are well on track.

Shai Hope joined his partner, hit couple of boundaries and two sixes against spinners to take the game further.

A strong partnership for second wicket, both reached to their fifties, as West Indies was ready to launch attack.

Lewie departed, another power hitter Hetmyer joined the crease, and attacked from ball 1.

Couple of sixes against Muhammad Nabi and Rashid Khan as West Indies were targeting the 300 total, but wickets started to fall.

Lewis was the next to go, while Pooran was the next to come in. Both Pooran and Hytmer played dominant cricket against Afghanistan.

Pooran strike remain above 100, courtesy 6 fours and 1 six. It was Captain Jason Holder’s explosive innings that insured West Indies reach 300.

West Indies finished at 311/6 in 50 overs, as Afghanistan had a peak to climb to win this game.

Photo: File

Afghanistan’s Innings

Afghanistani batsmen were hoping for a great start to chase down a huge total, Captain Gulbadin Naib and Rehmat Shah were on the crease to start the innings.

In just second over, Gulbadin handed an easy catch Lewis off Roach ball as Ikram Alikhail joined Rehmat.

Both batsmen kept rotating strike, also scored odd boundaries to keep the score board moving, partnership was building, and West Indies bowlers started to feel the pressure.

A 100 run partnership insured both batsmen reached to their fifties, with 12 boundaries combine.

Ikram Alikhail remained dominant with his aggressive style of batting. Though, both batsmen fell in short span of time as scored reached to 150.

West Indies Vs Afghanistan
Photo: File

Muhmmad Nabi and Najib Ullah Zadran also fell quickly, leaving Afghanistan in difficult situation. Former captain Asghar Afghan joined the partner, and charged against bowlers.

Some power hitting from Asghar Afghan as batting side reached to 200. They needed these two to continue longer but were dismissed before Afghanistan could reach to 250.

Late strikes from West Indies bowlers, as Afghanistan was all out for 288 in 50 overs.

West Indies won the game by 23 runs in high scoring thriller.

West Indies Vs Afghanistan
Photo: File


West Indies                                                                            Afghanistan

Chris Gayle                                                                      Gulbadin Naib (C)           

E Lewis                                                                                Rehmat Shah

Shai Hope (WK)                                                                Ikram Alikhail (WK)

SO Hetmyer                                                                      Najibullah Zadran

Nicholas Pooran                                                                  Asghar Afghan

Jason Holder (C)                                                                 Muhammad Nabi

Charlos Brathwaite                                                              Samiullah Shinwari

FA Allen                                                                                  Rashid Khan

SS Cottrell                                                                           Dawlat Zadran

KAJ Roach                                                                              Sayed Shizad

O Thomas                                                                             Mujeeb Ur Rehman

For more updates keep visiting allsportspk