Tennis – Sydney International: Petra Kvitova Outclasses Angelique Kerber

Petra Kvitova

Petra Kvitova finished Angelique Kerber’s rule as Sydney International champion with a straight-sets quarter-last triumph, while Alize Cornet is the main seed in the last four of the Hobart International.

Kvitova and Kerber had asserted six successes each in their past 12 gatherings and it was the fifth seed who edged in front in the no holds barred with a 6-4 6-1 win on Thursday following baffling precipitation delays.

Two-time Wimbledon champion Kvitova guaranteed five titles to come back to the best 10 in the rankings a year ago and looks fit as a fiddle to make her essence felt at the Australian Open subsequent to toppling Kerber in great design.

World Tennis Rankings – 7th January ’19: Novak Djokovic Retains The Top Rank

Kerber guaranteed the principal break after two early stoppages because of the climate, however Kvitova encouraged to win four recreations consecutively and take the opening set.

The Czech will go up against qualifier Aliaksandra Sasnovich in the last four in the wake of breaking her individual left-hander twice in the second set to seal a late-night triumph at around 11.30pm local time.

Sasnovich additionally progressed in straight sets, seeing off Timea Bacsinszky 6-3 6-3.

Tennis – Qatar Open 2019: Bautista Agut Defeats Berdych; Wins The Title

Ashleigh Barty followed up her success over world number one Simona Halep by taking out tenth seed Elise Mertens 6-3 6-3 and will play seventh seed Kiki Bertens, who lost just four matches in an annihilation of Yulia Putintseva.

Sofia Kenin ruined Kirsten Flipkens’ 33rd birthday in Hobart, beating the seventh seed 7-5 7-5.

Kenin, who upset best seed Caroline Garcia in the first round, will come up against Cornet in the last four after the 6th seed saw off Greet Minnen 6-1 6-4.

Tennis – Qatar Open 2019: Bautista Agut Ends Djokovic’s Unbeaten Run

Anna Karolina Schmiedlova and Belinda Bencic will challenge the other semi-final after straight-sets triumphs over Irina-Camelia Begu and Dayana Yastremska individually.

For more updates keep visiting allsportspk