The RLK Group Punjab Open Tennis Championship 2024 concluded with Muzamil Murtaza emerging as the standout performer, clinching two men’s titles and Shimza Durab lifting the women’s singles title.

Final Matches Overview

Muzamil Murtaza (3rd from left) winner of two Men’s titles of 2024 Punjab Open Tennis Championship, hosted at Bagh-e-Jinnah courts in Lahore – PTA/Allsportspk

Muzamil Murtaza showcased his supremacy on the Punjab Tennis Academy, Bagh-e-Jinnah. court by first securing victory in the men’s singles final against M. Abid with scores of 6-4, 7-6. He did not stop there; teaming up with Abdullah Adnan, Muzamil also triumphed in the men’s doubles final, overcoming the duo of M. Abid and Waqas Malik with a 6-3, 7-5 victory. “Winning not just one, but two titles at this championship feels surreal. It’s a testament to the hard work and dedication we have put in,” Murtaza expressed post-victory. 

The championship also saw Shimza Durab clinching the ladies’ singles title by defeating Bismel Zia with a convincing 6-3, 6-1 in the final, showcasing her prowess on the court.

The seniors’ categories were equally competitive, with notable victories from Talha Waheed and Arif Feroze in the doubles 45 plus category, and seniors champion Rashid Malik demonstrating his undiminished skill in the seniors 50 plus singles, outwitting Fayyaz Khan by 6-1, 6-1. The seniors 60 plus doubles title was claimed by Ghazanfar/Waqar Nisar, who outshone Saeed/Mubeen Malik 6-2, 6-1. 

Winner’s, runners up, participants, organisers and sponsors of 2024 Punjab Open Tennis Championship, hosted at Bagh-e-Jinnah courts in Lahore – PTA/Allsportspk

In the boys/girls U-14 final, Abdur Rehman beat Huzaima 6-0. In the boys/girls U-12 final, Muaz Shahbaz beat Ohad e Mustafa 6-2 while the boys/girls U-10 title was lifted by Ayan Shahbaz, who thrashed Ehsan Bari 6-1. 

The concluding ceremony with Dr. Rashid Latif Khan, Chairman of the RLK Group, along with Hasan Said, Director of RLSB, distributed the awards and prizes. Dr. Rashid stated that “Our commitment to tennis is unwavering. We aim not just to host tournaments but to nurture young talent, helping them bring glory to our nation.”

PLTA-Pakistan Lawn Tennis Association, Secretary Rashid Malik extended his gratitude towards the RLK Group for their all-out support.

2024 Punjab Open Tennis Championship: Commences; 25 Matches Decided

The Punjab Tennis Academy in Bagh-e-Jinnah hosted the opening ceremony of the Punjab Open Tennis Championship 2024.  

The championship got off to an energetic start with over 25 matches played on the first day alone. The competition was fierce, but the top contenders managed to secure their spots in the third round through decisive victories, setting a high bar for the matches to come. 

2024 Punjab Open Tennis Championship participants and organisers on Opening day at Bagh-e-Jinnah courts in Lahore – PTA/Allsportspk

Qualifying Matches Overview

In the men’s singles qualifying rounds, the competition was intense. The first round saw Abbas Wattoo narrowly defeating Mujtaba Shahbaz Khan 7-6, while M Junaid Khan overcame Saad 6-4. Other notable wins included Zaeem Ghafoor’s commanding 6-0 victory over Ahsan, and Ahmad Raza’s 6-3 win against Suhaib Waseem. The second round continued with the high stakes, featuring Ahmad Waqas Basit’s 6-3 win over Abdur Rehman Pirzada and Adil Amin’s dominant 6-1 victory against M Saad Imran, among others. 

Punjab Open Tennis C’ship 2021: Day 1

Main Draw Matches Overview

The main draw of the men’s singles first round was equally compelling, showcasing top-tier talent and determination. M Abid set a strong pace with a 6-1 win against Zaeem Ghafoor, while Muzamil Murtaza dispatched Tariq with a flawless 6-0 score. Other highlights included Heera Ashiq’s 6-2 victory over Ahmer and Kashif’s 6-3 win against Bilal Ahmad, demonstrating the depth of talent and competitive spirit at the championship.