The 24th National Baseball Championship started at Army Cricket Ground, Rawalpindi. The championship will be played from 11th to 17th October, 2021.

The participating teams include Teams from Islamabad, Baltistan, Pakistan Police, Pakistan Army, Pakistan WAPDA, HEC, Punjab, Balochistan, Sindh, and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa. The title is being defended by the Army team.

In the League Round, the teams are divided into two groups. Group A: Army, Punjab, Balochistan and Sindh while Group B: WAPDA, Police, HEC and Islamabad.

On the opening day, three matches were played.

The opening match was played between Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Gilgit-Baltistan. Khyber Pakhtunkhwa beat Gilgit-Baltistan 12-0 in a one-sided contest. Wasim, Syed Athar, Inam and Owais scored two runs for Khyber Pakhtunkhwa while Abid, Ehtesham, Farooq and Junaid scored one run each. 

In the second match, WAPDA defeated Islamabad 7-5 after a tough contest. Mukarram Usman scored 2 runs for WAPDA while Muhammad Zakir, Muhammad Wasim, Sumair Zawar, Umair Bhatti and Noman scored one run each. For Islamabad, Fazal Rabi, Suleiman, Muhammad Fayyaz, Rehan and Owais scored one run each.

The third match was to be played between Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and HEC, but the HEC recorded a protest against a player of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa before the jury, saying that the player was a regular WAPDA employee, while under the rules of the tournament, departmental players cannot be part of the provincial teams without the permission of the department. After examining all the evidence, the jury declared the HEC team the winner. Thus, the HEC team has reached in the League Round. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here