Pakistan Tennis team would depart to Baku, Azerbaijan on May 9 to participate in the Islamic Solidarity Games (ISG) to be held from May 12 to 22 at Baku, Azerbaijan. Previously, the first event was held in Saudi Arabia in 2005 and the third in Indonesia in 2013, while the second event, scheduled to take place in October 2009 in Iran, was cancelled.

The Tennis team comprises of Aqeel Khan, Muzamil Murtaza and Abid Mustaq while female players comprise Mehak Khokar, Sara Mansoor and Sara Mehboob.

Pakistan’s contingent of 200 athletes and officials will take part in 14 disciplines of the event These disciplines include athletics, basketball, boxing, handball, karate, shooting, swimming, table tennis, taekwondo, tennis, volleyball, weightlifting, wrestling and wushu.

Pakistan, by participating in the two earlier games, stood at 16th position among 38 participating countries with four medals, including three gold and one bronze medal.