6th J.A.Zaman Open Golf: Shabbir Iqbal Retains The Title 

 6th J.A.Zaman Open Golf
6th J.A.Zaman Open Golf – Pakistan: The winners of various categories with the Tournament organizers/sponsors – Zaman Family – Courtesy: Mr. Pervaiz Saeed

LAHORE: The 6th J. A. Zaman Memorial Open Golf Championship came to a finish after three rounds of competitive golf for the professional golf champions and leading amateurs  at the notable  Lahore Gymkhana Golf Course yesterday.

Star of the championship turned out to be the expected invulnerable pride of Pakistan Golf, Shabbir Iqbal. This J. A. Zaman Open Golf Championship seems to have become his adored and treasured golf event as for the fifth time he has prevailed and ultimately triumphed by a display of majestic and outstanding golf. His victory in this 6th J.A.Zaman Championship is attributable to outstanding rounds of 65 and 68 on the first two days and then a rather modest one of 77 on the final day. His overall winning aggregate score was 210, six under par.

 6th J.A.Zaman Open Golf
6th J.A.Zaman Open Golf – Pakistan: Shabbir Iqbal the winner who retained the title  – Courtesy: Mr. Pervaiz Saeed
Runner up in the Professional section was Talib Hussain of CDA, Islamabad. This golfer with immense potential flourished and thrived in the final round with accurate hitting and graceful putting. He almost managed to topple the mighty Shabbir and in the final moments there appeared a possibility that he and Shabbir might go for a sudden death playoff to decide the title winner, but a missed putt by Talib on the closing 18th hole,neutralized that possibility and Shabbir emerged as the conqueror.

Third position holder in Professionals section was Matloob Ahmed of Garrison with three rounds scores of 77, 67 and 69 and a three days aggregate of 213, three under par. A few top professionals who became a part of first ten positions are M. Munir (RGC), Amjad Yousaf (KGC) Akber Mehroz (Gymkhana), Waheed Baloch (KGC), Anser Mehmood (Islamabad), Jafal Hussain (Gymkhana) and Danyaal Jehangir (Gymkhana).

Amateur section top performers were Ghazanfar Mehmood (Green City ), first gross with a three days score of 226 and Ahsan Khawaja (Gymkhana) runners up and his score was 231. Salman Akhter (Gymkhana) came third ,his score being 234. In the race for honors in net section, Danish Javed of NTDC won the first net with a net aggregate score of 219. Second net winner was Raja M. Israr, his net score being 222. Third net winning contender was Robin Bagh (Gymkhana) and his score was net 224.

Other events:

Ladies; Daniya Ayaz(Raya) 3rd net;Shahzadi Gulfam (Garrison) 2nd net;Aisha Moazzam (Gymkhana) 1st net;Zaibunnisa (Royal Palm) 3rd gross; Ghazala Yasmin (Garrison) 2nd gross; Parkha Ijaz (Raya) 1st gross; Veterans; Khalid Mansoor (Gymkhana) 2nd net; Iqbal Saigol (Gymkhana)1st net; Karamatullah Chaudry (Gymkhana) 2nd gross;Maj. (r)U.D.Najmi (Garrison) 1st gross; Super Veterans; Air Cmdr (r) Z. I. Ahmed (Gymkhana) 2nd net;Dr Khawaja Sadiq Hussain (Gymkhana)1st net;

Senior section gross winners were Javed A.Khan, Omer Farooq and Col. Younis Barula. Senior section net winners were Tariq Mehmood, Col Shafi, Zafar Iqbal.Invitational section winners were Shahid Sheikh and Aneeq Khawar, net category and Mian Anwer Sadiq and Mehmood A.Sheikh, gross section.

At the conclusion of the Championship, Seema Aziz and Ambreen Aziz, Ali Zaman and Hamid Zaman of Zaman Family gave away prizes to the winners in a ceremony at Gymkhana Golf Club attended by Kamran Lashari, Chairman, Shaukat Javed ,Convenor Golf, Omer Zia, Captain Golf, Mian Ahsan Saeed, Convenor, Dr. Ali Razzaq, Convenor and participating golf players.

For more updates keep visiting allsportspk