Athletics – New York Marathon: Lelisa Desisa & Mary Keitany Win Titles

New York Marathon

Kenya’s Mary Keitany won the New York Marathon for the fourth time in five years as Ethiopia’s Lelisa Desisa fixed the men’s title.

Keitany, 36, was second in 2017 yet won back the title in an informal time of 2 hours 22 minutes 48 seconds.

She completed just about four minutes in front of countryman Vivian Cheruiyot, while the USA’s Shalane Flanagan was third.

Desisa, 28, held off Ethiopian countryman Shura Kitata by two seconds to win the men’s race.

A two-time champ in Boston, he went too far in an informal time of 2:05.59, only 54 seconds short of the New York men’s record set by Geoffrey Mutai in 2011.

For more updates keep visiting allsportspk