The Los Angeles Dodgers beat the Tampa Bay Rays 3×1 and were declared champions for the first time since 1988.

The victory in 32 years was at the neutral headquarters of Arlington, Texas, which had the series 4-2 on aggregate, came about in a sizzking sixth inning to which the Rays led 1-0, credit to a home run by Cuban rookie Randy Arozarena.

The Dodgers, took departure advantage of the pitcher Blake Snell, and scored through Austin Barnes and Mookie Betts who hit a solo home run in the eighth to stamp the seventh World Series title victory of LA Dodgers.

The confirmed statistics of winning team were: LA Dodgers after the fifth game of the World Series started with a 3-2 lead, had won 44 of 67 previous times, for 65.7%.