Cholistan Blind Cricket Trophy 2019: Day-1

Cholistan Blind Cricket Trophy 2019: A Day-1 team with management officials  – Courtesy PBCC

RAHIM YAR KHAN: A notable day in the sports history of Rahim Yar Khan, the first of it’s kind, Blind Cricket Tourney got underway there at Abbasiya Sports Complex, Rahim Yar Khan.

Two matches of the Trophy were played today.

1st Match: Lahore Lions vs Peshawar Panthers

Peshawar Panthers won the toss and put Lahore Lions into bat. The pitch was slow and outfield was dense due to heavy rains. Peshawar took advantage of the bowling friendly conditions splendidly and bowled out Lahore on just 116 runs in 19.5 overs. Nisar Ali, Muhammad Akram, Kamran Akhtar, Riasat Khan fell cheaply and Peshawar ran through the middle order quickly. Noman Tahir and Idrees Saleem were their top scorers with 22 and 20 runs respectively. Mohsin Khan and Shahzaib Hayder claimed 2 wickets each.

Peshawar in reply chased the target of 117 runs in 15.1 overs for the loss of 4 wickets. Mohsin Khan made 44 runs and Badar Munir chipped in with 42 runs. Ahtesham claimed  2 wickets, Akram and Muhammad Idrees Saleem claimed a wicket a piece.

Result: Peshawar Panthers won by 6 wickets.             

Man of the Match: Mohsin Khan 

Breaking Pak vs S.Lanka-3rd ODI: Pakistan Win + Series 2-0

2nd Match: Islamabad Falcons vs Bahawalpur Deers 

Islamabad Falcons won the toss and put Bahawalpur Deers into bat. Bahawalpur made 168 runs for the loss of 4 wickets in stipulated 20 overs. Muhammad Rashid played beautifully and made 90 runs off 78 balls, Haroon Khan made 43 runs off 36 balls with the help of 3 fours and 1 big six. Mujeeb-ur-Rehman and Ghulam Akbar took 1 wicket each.

In reply Islamabad got a good opening stand, Moain Aslam and Sanaullah Khan made 50’s. Moain Aslam got out after scoring 56 runs off 47 balls, Sanaullah made 58 off 48 balls but wasn’t enough to reach the target. Muhammad Ijaz’s last 3 overs spell turned the table around and Bahawalpur won the match in a nail-biting finish. Ijaz conceded only 16 runs in last 3 overs spell and was the only bowler to claim a wicket.

Islamabad fell 4 runs short of the target. Islamabad scored 164 runs for the loss of 6 wickets in allotted 20 overs.

Result: Bahawalpur won by 4 runs                      

Man of the Match: Moin Muhammad Rashid

Cholistan Blind Cricket Trophy 2019: Day-1 the event being inaugurated  – Courtesy PBCC

The event was inaugurated by Syed Sultan Shah Chairman PBCC, Mr. Jamil Ahmad Jamil, the Deputy Commissioner Rahim Yar Khan.

Chairman PBCC in his address said, “PBCC is expanding its game development programme and reaching out to areas which were not tapped earlier. The enthusiasm and interest of the local community is promising to strengthen cricket playing culture at grassroots level. He thanked the District Administration for the much needed support in hosting this event”.

Mr. Jamil Ahmed Jamil, the Deputy Commissioner RYK said that “He has been really impressed by talent of players and illustrated Governmnet of Punjab vision to provide equal opportunities to players with Special abilities”. He asked the Sports Department to add one Blind Cricket event in each calendar year.

For more updates keep visiting allsportspk