Match Basics1st Of 5 T201 – India’s tour of New Zealand 2020
– Date: 24 January 2020
– Venue: Eden Park, Auckland
– Umpires: Chris Brown and Shaun Haig
– Toss won by: India
Scorecard Summary
New Zealand’s Innings: 203/5 (20 Overs, RR: 10.06)
– Batting: Martin Guptill 30 of 19 balls, C Munro 59 off 42 balls, Kane Williamson 51 off 26 balls and Ross Taylor 54 off 27 balls
– Bowling: Jasprit Bumrah 1/31 in 4 overs, S Dube 1/24 in 3 overs and Yuzvendra Chahal 1/32 in 4 overs
Target: 204 runs from 20 overs
India’s Innings: 289/3 (20 Overs, RR: 6.08)
– Batting: Rohit Sharma 119 off 128 balls, Virat Kohli 89 off 91 and Shreyas Iyer 44 off 35 balls
– Bowling: Ashton Agar 1/38 in 10 overs, Adam Zampa 1/44 in 10 overs and Josh Hazlewood 1/55 in 9.3
Result: India Won by 7 wickets and won the series 2-1
Man of the Match: Rohit Sharma

New Zealand’s Innings
⦁ Captained by Kane Williamson, New Zealand had the new names of Blair Tickner and Hamish Bennett in their side, whereas India had no Washington, no Kuldeep Yadav and not even Rishabh Pant either in their playing eleven.
⦁ New Zealand’s aggressive openers, Martin Guptill and Colin Munro started the innings for the home team. India handed the bowl to in form Shardul Thakur and Jasprit Bumrah.
⦁ The New Zealand innings was off to a flying start from the very start as they accumulated 68 runs in the batting powerplay without losing a single wicket. New Zealand had crossed the 50-run mark too in just 4.3 overs
⦁ After some power striking, Guptill was dismissed by Dube and New Zealand were now 80/1.
⦁ Munro was joined by the captain, Kane Williamson and both too played aggressively as well after a cautious start from Kane.
⦁ Munro too completed his tenth T20I fifty in just 36 balls.  
⦁ Munro, however, fell to a great off-cutter by Thakur after scoring a quickfire 59 off just 42 balls.
⦁ Collin de Grandhomme came next who was dismissed by Jadeja on a second-ball duck.
⦁ Ross Taylor joined Williamson, and both helped New Zealand cross the 150-mark in 15.3 overs. The foundation for a 200+ score seemed to be well set as both Ross and Kane looked to thrash the Indian bowlers all over the park.
⦁ Williamson was dismissed by Chahal after scoring a great half century. He was dismissed after scoring 51 off 26 balls.
⦁ Siefert came in next and he too was dismissed for just 1 run by Bumrah. New Zealand were 181/5 now.
⦁ Santner came in next and Taylor on the other hand kept the innings apace and completed his first half century in six years as well. New Zealand too completed the 200 mark in 19.4 overs.
⦁ New Zealand finished on a high with a huge total of 203/5 after their 20 overs. India had to bat well throughout to chase this huge total, that too in away conditions.
The New Zealand innings terminated with a target of 204 Runs.  

India’s Innings
⦁ India’s Opening duo of Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul arrived at the crease to face New Zealand’s Mitchell Santner and Tim Southee.
⦁ Rohit was struck first in the second over for just 7 runs by Mitchell Santner. This completed Santner’s 50 T20I wickets as well. The Indian skipper, Virat Kohli made his way to the middle.
⦁ Both of them got off to a blistering start as India completed the 50-run mark in the first five overs and India was 65/1 after the powerplay.
⦁ India scored the first 100 runs in 8.4 overs and looked all set to chase down the target comfortably. KL Rahul lost his mark after scoring 56 off 27 balls. He was dismissed by Ish Sodhi.
⦁ Virat Kohli was too dismissed with an over after scoring 45 runs off 27 balls by Tickner and India was in hot water after their set batsmen were dismissed in a quick succession. Dube was promoted up the order and was dismissed for a measly 9 runs innings too. India were 142/4.
⦁ Shreyas Iyer and Manish Pandey came to the middle and rescued India the way it needed to be. Blistering strikes from Iyer saw India cruising towards the total with sheer ease.
⦁ India chased down the target within 19 overs and comfortably beat New Zealand by 6 wickets with an over to spare

India won by 6 wickets and lead the series 1-0