CWC ’19-Match 40: India Vs Bangladesh

Match Basics

CWC 19-Match 40: India Vs Bangladesh

Date: 2nd July 2019

Venue: Brimingham

Umpire: Marais Erasmus, Ruchira Palliyagurage

Toss Won by: India, elected to bat first

Scorecard Summary

India’s Innings: 314/9 (50 Overs, RR: 6.28)


Batting: Rohit Sharma 104 off 92 balls, KL Rahul 77 off 92 balls, Rishabh Pant 48 off 41 balls.

Bowling: Muztafizur Rehman 5/59 in 10 overs, Soumya Sarkar 1/33 in 6 overs,  Shakib Al Hassan 1/41 in 10 overs.

Bangladesh’s Innings: 286 (48 Overs, RR: 5.95)


Batting: Shakib Al Hassan 66 off 74 balls, Muhammad Saifuddin 51 off 38 balls, Sabbir Rehman 36 off 36 balls.

Bowling: Jaspirt Bumrah 4/55 in 10 overs, Hardik Pandya 3/60 in 10 overs, YS Chahal 1/50 in 10 overs. 

Highlights & Analysis

India’s Innings

Despite England having ended their unbeaten streak in last game, India came into this game as favourites, with top order in supreme form.

Bangladesh had no other option but to win this match, to have any chance of reaching semi finals stage.

India’s Virat Kohli elected to bat after winning the toss on a batting friendly track, in hope of a high score.

Openers KL Rahul and Rohit Sharma were on the crease to face Mashrafe Mortaza and Mohammad Saifuddin.

With little bit movement in the air, KL Rahul started to struggle against pacers, on other hand Rohit looked comfortable. Tamim Iqbal could not grab a simple chance in the deep off Saif Uddin’s ball, which provided a life line to Rohit Sharma

Both openers started playing positively, and put pressure on bowlers, scoring with their will.

Rohit being the dominant of both, kept finding boundaries. Partnership reached to 100 mark without losing wicket.

Bangladesh was desperate for a wicket, and it came after a long while, as Rohit Sharma was caught after scoring yet another century in the tournament.

Captain Virat Kohli joined Rahul, and kept rotating strike, soon India lost another batsman and finally flow of runs was controlled.

Bangladeshi bowlers came back strong and kept getting wickets, it was Virat Kohli’s precious wicket grabbed by left arm Mustafizur as he was dismissed at 26.

No other batsman except Rishabh Pant could find boundaries regularly, as India finished their innings at 314-9 in 50 overs.

Bangladesh’s Innings

Though, Bangladesh had a batting line up which can chase down a 300+ total, it was a huge task against Indian pack of inform bowlers.

Left handed Tami Iqbal and Soumya Sarkar started innings for the Bangladesh, while B Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah started from both ends for India.

A positive start from openers suggested Bangladesh are well on track, but not for long as Muhammad Shami shattered the stumps of Tamim Iqbal after scoring 22.

Prolific all rounder Shakib Al Hassan was the next on crease. He played confidently struck couple of boundaries to keep the run rate high. It was his partner who could not keep it up.

Shakib kept scoring quick runs but could not find support from other end as wickets kept falling.

It was Shakib who was next in line. Bangladesh had lost 6 wickets after scoring 179, and looked like they were out of the game already.

Mohammad Saifuddin was on the crease, Bangladesh had no specialist batsman left. 

It was Saifuddin who charged at Indian bowlers and made them look helpless
He made a fight of it for Bangladesh and scored a fifty but Bumrah struck when it mattered and India prevailed for a 28 run win, as Bangladesh were all out on 286 in 48 overs.



KL Rahul

Rohil Sharma

Rishabh Pant

Hardik Pandya

MS Dhoni (WK)

KD Karthik

B Kumar

Muhammad Shami

 Jasprit Bumrah

YS Chahal


Tamim Iqbal

Soumya Sarkar

Shakib Al Hassan

Mushfiqur Rahim (WK)

Liton Das

Mossaddek Hossain

Sabbir Rehman

Mohammad Saifuddin

Mashrafe Mortaza

Rubel Hossain

Mustafizur Rehman

for more update keep visiting Allsportspk