Cycling – Vuelta a Espana ’18 Stage 11: Alessandro De Marchi Wins

Alessandro De Marchi

Alessandro De Marchi won the longest phase of the current year’s Vuelta a Espana as the moving Galicia slopes started a hard day of racing.

Cycling – Vuelta a Espana ’18 Stage 10: Elia Viviani Wins

Thibaut Pinot came near to acquire the general race lead from Simon Yates only to race far away and pass up a great opportunity on the stage 11 victory.

Race Highlights:

  • De Marchi and Pinot were a piece of a 19-rider break that framed after more than a 100km of assaults and counter assaults.
  • Pinot wasted a lot of energy with a progression of assaults before BMC Racing took control as the leader of the race and De Marchi cruised away with Jhonatan Restrepo on the last climb.
  • The Italian at that point dropped his adversary in the last kilometers and paddled away to win alone. Restrepo completed 28 seconds behind De Marchi, with the remaining parts of the break spread crosswise over two minutes and Pinot at 1:50.
  • The general contenders completed just 2:02 behind after a late sprint, with Simon Yates retaining the red pioneer’s shirt, one minute in front of Alejandro Valverde.
  • Valverde’s partner Nairo Quintana was forceful in the last kilometer and thus acquired the third position in the general rankings at 14 seconds.

De Marchi has won only four races in his nine-year vocation so far. And, surprisingly three have come at the Vuelta an Espana, where he frequently gets the flexibility to utilize his quality as a domestique to chase for individual achievement.

Stage 11 Results – Vuelta a España

1. Alessandro De Marchi
2. Jhonatan Restrepo
3. Franco Pellizotti
4. Nans Peters
5. Dylan Teuns
6. Tiesj Benoot
7. Rafal Majka
8. Nicolas Roche
9. Sergio Henao
10. Thibaut Pinot

General Classification After Stage 11 – Vuelta a España

1. BMC Racing Team
2. Bahrain-Merida
3. Team Sky
4. Movistar Team
5. LottoNl-Jumbo
6. AG2R La Mondiale
7. Dimension Data
8. Euskadi Basque Country
9. EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale
10. Katusha-Alpecin

For more updates keep visiting allsportspk