Saracens celebrate their European Rugby Champions Cup final win                              Courtesy: EPCRugby

Saracens claimed a 28-17 victory over ASM Clermont Auvergne in the 2017 final and made them the champions for second year in a row. Saracens wearing the champions crown again for 2017 was built on focused strategy and resistant defence.

The tries from George Kruis, Alex Goode and Chris Ashton confirmed the success for Saracens. Nick Abendanon and Remi Lamerat countered for Clermont, but their effort was not enough to stop the Saracens from becoming again the champions.

Saracens since their last year win have further strengthened their attacking gear, which was clearly evident especially in the first quarter which was moreover controlled by Saracens.

Although, the breakdown was dominated by the Clermont as they were successful in stopping the charging rhythm of Saracens.¬†And for a while the champions were only able to show the mastery of their¬†defense but a score of the season¬†by Scott Spedding saw Clermont back in the game.¬†Despite the momentum being moreover in advantage of Clermont, Saracens showed their mental class and¬†were able to take control of the game. ¬†Clermont finally cracked and it was confirmed that Europe’s¬†best club side is the¬†Saracens.


Saracens: Aston, Goode,  Bosch, Barritt, Wyles, Koch, Farrell, Vunipola, Wigglesworth; George, Itoje, B. Vunipola, Kruis, Rhodes, Wray. Replacements: Hamilton for Itoje, Spencer for Wigglesworth,Taylor for Barritt,  Brits for George, Du Plessis for Koch,  S Burger for Wray, Lamositele for M Vunipola.

Clermont Auvergne: Lamerat, Spedding; Strettle, Lopez, Rougerie, Abendanon; Chaume, Parra; Yato, Kayser, Zirakashvili, Iturria, Chouly, Lee, Vahaamahina.
Replacements: Fernandez for Spedding, Lapandry for Yato, Penaud for Rougerie, Radosavljevic for Parra, Jarvis for Zirakashvili, Falgoux for Chaume, Ulugia for Kayser, Jedrasiak for Vahaamahina.