The ICC awards are a set of cricketing awards given for cricket each year. The awards acknowledge and honour the players who have done exceptionally well in the past 12 months. These awards were first given in 2004 and have continued to be given ever since.

For the year 2019, the awards were announced on 15 January 2020 and not only the players were lauded for performing incredibly but for given with the following titles as well.

Ben Stokes Wins – Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy

England all-rounder Ben Stokes won the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for becoming the ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year following a phenomenal 2019. Ben Stoke’s heroics in the final of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 were the main highlight of his cricketing year where he single-handedly won England the World Cup for the first time in its history. He also scored an incredible 135 runs innings to lead England win the Headingley test on 3 August against Australia in the Ashes.

Ben Stokes with the World Cup trophy 

Pat Cummins Wins – ICC Test Cricketer of the Year

Australia’s Pat Cummins rose to the peak rating of 904 in the ICC Men’s Test Bowler Rankings and was awarded with this award due to his fiery pace and amazing bowling consistency in test matches throughout the year.

Pat Cummins celebrating against England

Rohit Sharma Wins – ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year

India’s 32-year-old Rohit Sharma won the ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year for his magnificent performances throughout the year and in the Cricket World Cup. Sharma scored record-breaking five centuries in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 and averaging 92.7 per innings, Rohit was very likely to win this one.

Rohit scoring a century against Pakistan

Virat Kohli – ICC Spirit of Cricket Award

India’s skipper, Virat Kohli won the ICC Spirit of Cricket Award due to his excellent display of sportsmanship throughout the year. An example of this being shutting down the crowd when the crowd booed Steve Smith being a cheater. Virat demonstrated how to be a good cricketer both on and off the field and he richly deserved this award.

ICC Men’s Emerging Cricketer

Australia’s new emerging talent, Marnus Labuschagne won this award due to his consistent batting performances, matching the likes of Steve Smith and the other greats in the world.

Associate Cricketer of the Year

Scotland’s Kyle Coetzer won this award for being the best player out of all the associate teams’ cricket players

T20 Performance of the Year

India’s Deepak Chahar’s 6/7 against Bangladesh on 10 November 2019, which too involved a hat-trick as well was awarded the T20 Performance of the Year

Umpire of the Year

England’s Richard Illingworth was named the best umpire of the year for being the most accurate with his decision making on the field out of the lot.

ICC Test Team of the Year

ICC also announced the Test Team of the Year for 2019 and it is as follows:

Test Team of the Year – Courtesy ICC

Along with the awards, ICC too announced the Men’s Test Team of the Year. The Team comprised of:

  • x 5 Australians
  • x 3 New Zealanders
  • x 2 Indians
  • x 1 English

Keep following Allsportspk for more Cricket and Sports Updates.