Match Basics
India vs New Zealand-2nd T20I
Date: 26 January 2020
Venue: Eden Park, Auckland
Umpires: Chris Brown and Shaun Haig
Toss won by: New Zealand

Scorecard Summary

New Zealand’s Innings: 132/5 (20 Overs, RR: 6.6)

Batting: Martin Guptill 33 off 20 balls, Colin Munro 26 off 25 balls and TL Siefert 33 off 26 balls.

Bowling: Ravindra Jadeja 2/18 in 4 overs
Target: 133 runs from 20 overs

India’s Innings: 135/3 (17.3 overs, RR: 7.71)

Batting: Shreyas Iyer 44 off 33 balls and KL Rahul 57 off 50 balls

Bowling: Ish Sodhi 1/33 in 4 overs and Tim Southee 2/20 in 3.3 overs
Result: India win by 7 wickets and lead the series 2-0
Man of the Match: KL Rahul


New Zealand’s Innings

⦁ New Zealand started their batting powerplay with a bang and were 48/1 after the first powerplay. The only wicket they lost was of Martin Guptill who was undone by Shardul Thakur after scoring 33 off 20 balls.
⦁ The skipper, Kane Williamson joined Colin Munro and New Zealand completed their 50-run mark in 6.2 overs.
⦁ India came back strong and took two back to back wickets of Colin Munro (for 26 off 25 balls) and Colin de Grandhomme (3 off 5 balls). Dube and Ravindra Jadeja took the wickets respectively.
⦁ Williamson was too dismissed by Jadeja as New Zealand were 81/4. He made a rather slow 14 runs off 20 balls. New Zealand were in all sorts of trouble after the 15 overs.

. New Zealand crossed the hundred mark in 15.3 overs and were required to go big in order to set a formidable score to outdo India.
⦁ Ross Taylor and TL Siefert came to the middle to rescue New Zealand but they could not manage much either as Taylor was dismissed on the second last ball on 18 off 24 by Bumrah.
⦁ With Siefert scoring an important 33 off 26, New Zealand could only manage a meagre 132.
⦁ New Zealand needed to bowl tight to win this important second T20I of the series just like India did, conceding 23 runs of the last 4 overs.

The New Zealand innings terminated with a target of 133 Runs.

India’s Innings
-India got their first blow at 8 when Rohit Sharma was dismissed by Tim Southee after scoring 8 off 6 balls. New Zealand got their much-needed early breakthrough.
-Kohli came in next and his knock was also short-lived as he could only manage 11 runs off 10 balls and was too dismissed by Tim Southee as well.
-After the powerplay, India were 40/2.

-Shreyas Iyer and KL Rahul came to rescue India and stabilized the innings. On the other hand, Williamson kept making bowling changes, bringing in the spinners Santner and Ish Sodhi too. India were 82/2 after 13 overs. Indians rather looked to save wickets in hand and go big later.
-India completed their 100 runs in 14.4 overs.

-Iyer and Rahul looked to wrap up the innings, however, Iyer was dismissed by Sodhi after scoring a much-needed 44 off 33 balls. Dube walked in to join KL Rahul.

-KL Rahul hit big in the 15th over, scoring 16 from that and scoring a half-century as well off 43 balls. India needed just 30 from 30 then.

-Iyer and Rahul looked to wrap up the innings, however, Iyer was dismissed by Sodhi after scoring a much-needed 44 off 33 balls. Dube walked in to join KL Rahul.

-Dube completed the target with a six as India finished the game with 15 balls to spare. India won the game by 7 wickets, taking a 2-0 lead against the home team.
India win by 7 wickets, leading the series 2-0


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here