Manzoor Hussian Memorial Golf Trophy: M. Ilyas Wears Winning Cap

The Syed Manzoor Hussain Memorial Golf trophy for senior golf professionals, amateurs and ladies was held at the par 72, Lahore Gymkhana Golf Course.

This championship was arranged by his son Syed Shaghil Hussian based in United States, in memory of his late father, the eminent Syed Manzoor Hussain who was associated with golf for over fifty years.

This competition is open to the senior golf professionals who have crossed the age bracket of 50 years. Most of them have been accomplished golf champions in their youthful days, having won many national titles, but now with physique and limbs a little withered they can show their prowess only in the seniors category. There were also events for amateurs and the skilled ones in the ladies category.

Participants in the golf competition included past golf professional champions like Manzoor Ahmed, a champion in the eighties and nineties, Ghulam Nabi who has won the Pakistan title six times, Javed Inayat, a notable golf professional of Karachi and M. Iqbal who has won the Syed Manzoor Hussain title many times.

In the 2018 Syed Manzoor Hussain Memorial Golf trophy, the defending champion M. Iqbal, could not manage his dominance and his place was taken over by the golfer of immense strength, M. Ilyas. Throughout the 18 holes he consistently produced shots of excellence and in the process produced regulation pars in a sequence. His shot making was superb and so was the control on the greens where he putted with authority. He aggregated a gross score of 73. This effort enabled him to prevail over his seasoned opponents like Ghulam Nabi, Manzoor, Iqbal and Javed. By achieving the top position he won a lucrative cash prize.

In this contest the runner up in Professionals category was M. Arif. He came up with a score of gross 75. Special prizes like longest drive went to M.Iqbal and nearest to the pin was won by M. Arif.

In the competition for amateurs, Nasir Irshad won the event with a gross score of 83 and the net winner was Maj. Gen (r) M. Tahir, his net score being 73.

Ladies competition was dominated by Rubina Nasir. She won the first net and her score was net 69. Minaa Zainab ended as the runner up with a score of net 71. Other ladies who played well are Shahbanz Waheed, net 75 and Ayesha Moazzam, net 75.

At the conclusion of the Syed Manzoor Hussian Memorial Golf trophy, the prizes were awarded to the winners by Dr Seema Anvery and Syed Shagil Hussain, in a ceremony attended by Aameen Taqi Butt a former champion, the Organiser, Col (r) Syed M.Mazhar and participating golfers.

For more updates about Manzoor Hussain Memorial Golf trophy keep visiting allsportspk