Match Basics

ICC World Test Championship- Match 2: Pakistan Vs Sri Lanka

Date: 22 December 2019

Venue: National Cricket Stadium, Karachi

Umpires: Joel Wilson (West Indies), Bruce Oxenford (Australia)

Toss: Pakistan, chose to bat first

Scorecard Summary

Pakistan 1st innings: 191/10, (59.3 Overs, RR: 3.21)

Sri 1st 1st innings: 271/10, (85.5 Overs, RR: 3.15)

Pakistan 2nd innings: 555/3d, (131 Overs, RR: 4.23)

Sri Lanka 2nd innings: 212/7 (60.1 Overs, RR: 3.52)

Top Performers

Batting: Babar Azam 100*off 131 balls, Oshada Fernando 100* off 172 balls

Bowling: Naseem Shah 2/31 in 11 overs

Highlights of the Day

Pakistan began the day on a confident note with an existing lead of 325 runs and two set batsmen Azhar Ali and Babar Azam on the crease.

Skipper Azhar Ali scored his 15th test century as the pair continued to pile up runs on a hapless Sri Lanka.

Azhar Ali was caught behind on Embuldeniya’s delivery in the 123rd over but the damage was done as Pakistan had scored a mammoth total 0f 503 by then.

Babar Azam was the next Pak batsman to score century, his third test as he cruised past 100 with a fantastic shot.

Pakistan’s opening batsmen set another record with all four of top batsmen scoring centuries in a single inning, the only second time in the history of the sport and first time for Pakistan.

Pakistan declared their innings just after Lunch when Babar Azam scored his century at 555/3. Sri Lanka needed 476 to win the second test in Karachi.

Sri Lanka began their herculean task of chasing 476 aiming to replicate Pakistan’s opening batting set up but their hopes were dashed when Karunaratne (16*) got dismissed by Abbas in 10th over.

Next to go was Kusal Mendis removed by Naseem Shah on duck.

Oshada Fernando was the only Sri Lankan batsman to offer some resistance and rest of the batting order were chipped away by Pak bowling attack.

Sri Lanka were 212/7 at the end of day four needing 264 runs to win the second test.


Pakistan: Shan Masood, Abid Ali, Azhar Ali (Captain), Babar Azam, Asad Shafiq, Haris Sohail, Mohammad Rizwan (Wicket Keeper), Yasir Shah, Mohammad Abbas, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Naseem Shah

Sri Lanka: BOP Fernando, FDM Karunaratne (Captain), BKG Mendis, AD Mathews, L Embuldeniya LD Chandimal, DM de Silva, N Dickwella (Wicket Keeper), MDK Perera, MVT Fernando, CBRLS Kumara

For regular updates keep visiting: Allsportspk