The final lineup of Women’s Basketball competition at the Tokyo Olympics 2020 has been confirmed following the conclusion of qualifying tournaments.

The 12 participants are Australia, Belgium, Canada, China, France, Japan, South Korea, Nigeria, Puerto Rico, Serbia, Spain and the United States.

Host Japan and 2018 FIBA Cup’s champions the United States had already qualified for the Tokyo Olympics and 10 remaining slots were up for the grabs.

Under the current FIBA competition system, the top three finishers in each qualifying tournament have been awarded tickets to the Tokyo Olympics.

Belgium and Puerto Rico are the two first-time qualifiers for the Olympic games after winning their respective matches against Mozambique and Germany in the qualifying round.

The qualifying matches were organized by the FIBA – International Basketball Federation in Belgrade, Serbia after being moved from China due to the deadly Coronavirus outbreak.

The 2020 Tokyo women’s Olympic basketball tournament will take place from July 27 to August 9. The draw for the event will be held on March 21.

The 12 participating sides will be divided into three groups of four teams each, with the top two teams in each group and the two best third-placed teams in the group phase advancing to the last eight.

For Regular Updates Keep Visiting: Allsportspk