CGG WSF Women’s World Team Championship ’18: First Time In China

Women's World Team Championship
Courtesy: WSF

China by hosting 21st CGG WSF Women’s World Team Championship, will make history in the world of squash, as it will be the first time that a squash championship with all matches on all-glass courts will be held in the city of Dalian in Liaoning Province.

World Squash Rankings – 6th September ’18: Elshorbagy Retains Top Position

The event will be played from 11th – 16th September (Tuesday) with top 15 players from 16 nations. The nations and players include:

  • Egypt team has four players who are rated among the world top six, which includes Raneem El Welily, the world No.2.
  • England play with the unprecedented record of having played in each final except one, since the event started 37 years ago in 1981.
  • The No.2 seeds Japan, have qualified in the 12 consecutive finals.
  • The 3rd seeds USA having competed in every championship since the event commenced in 1979.
  • As 4th seeds Malaysia team will be led by Nicol David, who since 2002 will be appearing the ninth successive time.

Women’s World Team Squash Championship: 2 Indians Withdraw; Redraw Takes Place

The city of Dalian hosted a welcome reception for the players on the eve of the event – as pictured above.

The Pool wise country groupings are:

  • Pool A: Egypt, Canada, Australia, Germany
  • Pool B: England, New Zealand, Japan, Finland
  • Pool C: USA, France, India, China
  • Pool D: Malaysia, Hong Kong China, South Africa, Switzerland

For more updates keep visiting allsportspk