Women’s World Team Squash Championship: Egypt Title Holders & Favorites

Women's World Squash Championship

CHINA: The CGG WSF Women’s World Team Squash Championship will be held from 11-16 September, in the Chinese city of Dalian, which is a seaport located in the Liaoning Province.

This is for the first time ever that world squash championship is being held in China. The venue will be the Xigang Gymnasium, featuring two all-glass show courts and four permanent all-glass courts.

Asian Games 2018 – Squash: Leo Wins 1st & Nicol 5th Gold

The Women’s World Team Championship since it started in 1979, has taken place in 11 countries. The last 2016 event took place in France, in which Egypt beat England and won the title for the third time.

The Egyptian team, with a squad of four-players, who are ranked among the world top six, are firm favourites to win and retain their title.

Since 2008, the Egyptian team will be attempting for a fourth title since 2008. It consists of:

World No.1 – Nour El Sherbini, who has also been a two-time world individual champion.
World No.2 – Raneem El Welily.
No.3 – Nour El Tayeb.
No. 6 – Nouran Gohar.

England team is the second favourite and thereby the final is expected to be between Egypt Vs England. The England seeded second, have been the champions for seven-times, which is after they had last won the biennial 2014 World Squash Federation title in Canada. The team includes:

Former world No.1 – Laura Massaro, presently ranked as World No. 7.
World No.8 – Sarah-Jane Perry.
World No.10 – Alison Waters,
No.13 – Victoria Lust..

The 3rd seeded are the USA, which includes the sisters – Amanda and Sabrina. Seeded third are the teams of Malaysia and Hong Kong China.

According to the Championship play rules, matches will be played in four pools and the top two teams in each pool will qualify for the quarter-finals, which will be based on knockout basis.

The complete Pool wise, team groups are as follows:
( Brackets indicate the team seeding)

Pool A:
[1] Egypt
[8] New Zealand
[9] Canada
[13/16] Germany

Pool B:
[2] England
[7] India
[10] Australia
[13/16] Finland

Pool C:
[3] USA
[6] France
[11] Japan
[13/16] China

Pool D:
[4] Malaysia
[5] Hong Kong China
[12] South Africa[13/16] Switzerland

For more updates keep visiting allsportspk