ICC International Cricket Council announced that India have qualified for the 2021 Women’s World Cup.

India became eligible as after the points of the cancelled series between Pakistan Vs India Women would be shared.

The last bilateral series were held of one-day internationals between the Pakistan and India men’s teams during 2012-13, in India.

Based on the decision the qualified teams are:

  • Australia with 37 points,
  • England the present title holders with 29 points,
  • South Africa with 25 points,
  • Hosts New Zealand,
  • India with 23 points

Pakistan, with 19 points will try to find a spot in the three remaining places to be decided in the qualifying World Cup tournament in Sri Lanka, which is presently scheduled for 3-19 July. Although, there is a strong possibility of the qualifier event being postponed because of the coronvirus pandemic.

The ICC announcement stated:

The ICC Women’s Championship Technical Committee (TC) has decided that teams will share points in all three series in the ICC Women’s Championship that did not take place during the competition window.

With respect to the India v Pakistan series, the TC concluded that the series could not be played because of a Force Majeure event after the BCCI demonstrated that it was unable to obtain the necessary government clearances to allow India to participate in the bilateral series against Pakistan, which forms a part of the ICC Women’s Championship.

Meanwhile, two other ICC Women’s Championship series have been cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic. South Africa were to host Australia and Sri Lanka were to host New Zealand in the last round of matches.

The India-Pakistan series was originally scheduled in the sixth round of the competition, between July and November 2019, but despite the best efforts of both the boards, it was unable to take place.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here