24th National Boys Swimming C’ship ’19:Punjab Bags Title With 21 Golds 

Pakistan24th National Boys Swimming C’ship ’19 – Courtesy PSB

LAHORE: Punjab swimmers stole the show when they won the 24th National Boys Age Group Swimming Championship at Punjab International Swimming Complex. 

Overall Punjab swimmers accumulated 1017 points and 21 gold medals. Sindh finished the championship as runners-up with 962 points and 23 gold medals followed by Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) with 293 points and 2 gold medals. 

Pakistan24th National Boys Swimming C’ship ’19: The winning Punjab team receiving the Trophy  – Courtesy PSB

The 3-day 24th National Boys Age Group Swimming Championship was organised under the auspices of Punjab Swimming Association and with the collaboration of Sports Board Punjab (SBP). 

Several young swimmers broke some half dozen national records during the 3-day grand event. 

KPK swimmer Ahmed Durrani exhibited magnificent performance during the championship. He broke U-14 100m backstroke national record with the time of 1.09.76. In 200m backstroke, Ahmed Durrani achieved gold medal by covering his distance in 2.37.17. In 200m, he clinched silver medal with the time of 2.33.87. 

Punjab’s Daniyal Ghulam Nabi , Asfandyar Sherdil, Sindh’s Ali Mitha and Zeeshan Abbas also excelled on the last day and established new national records in their respective age group categories. 

24th National Boys Swimming C’ship ’19: Day 2 – Amaan & Daniyal Create 2 National Records

The results were as follows: 

50m Butterfly U-16: 

  • 1. Feroz Kh (Pjb), 2. Zain Younis (Pjb), 3. Taha Hashmi (Sindh) 

50m Backstroke U-14: 

  • 1. Asfandyar Sherdil (32.13 NR) (Pjb), 2. Ahmed Durrani (KP), Saif Khurram (Sindh) 

50m Backstroke U-12: 

  • 1. Ali Mitha (33.13 NR) (Sindh), 2. Daniyal Alvi (Sindh), 3. Suleman Babar (Pjb) 

100m Breaststroke U-16: 

  • 1. Zeeshan Abbas (1.15:51 NR) (Sindh), 2. Zain Younis (Pjb), 3. Saif Baig (Sindh) 

50m Freestyle U-14: 

  • 1. Daniyal Ghulam Nabi (27.24 NR) (Pjb), 2. Ibraheem Rasheed (Pjb), 3. Ryaan Adnan Ali (Sindh). 

50m Breaststroke U-14: 

  • 1. Daniyal Ghulam Nabi (33.29 NR) (Pjb), 2. Rayan Maqbool (Sindh), 3. Faiz Iqbal (Sindh). 

For more updates keep visiting allsportspk