5th Asian Men’s Hockey Champions Trophy 2018: Pakistan Squad Announced

The Pakistan squad for the 5th Asian Men’s Hockey Champions Trophy 2018, has been announced by the Pakistan Hockey Federation.

A biennial event, the 5th Champions Trophy will be held in Muscat, Sultanate of Oman at the Sultan Qaboos Sports Complex. The previous Champions Trophy events were held in Malaysia, China, Qatar, and Japan.

The nations participating in the tournament include the hosts Oman, existing champions India, Japan, Malaysia, Pakistan and South Korea.

The Pakistan squad includes the following players:

  • Abubakr Mahmood
  • Aleem Bilal
  • Ali Shan
  • Ajaz Ahmed
  • Ammad Shakeel Butt – V. Captain
  • Faisal Qadir
  • Imran Butt (Goal keeper)
  • Mazhar Abbas – Goal keeper
  • M.Rizwan Sr – Captain
  • M.Irfan Sr.
  • Mubashar Ali
  • Mohammad Zubair
  • M. Irfan Jr.
  • M. Tauseeq Arshad
  • M. Rizwan Jr.
  • M. Atiq Arshad
  • Tasawwar Abbas
  • Umar Bhutta

Basic Champions Trophy Facts

  • Inaugural edition of the tournament was in 2011.
  • Pakistan is the most successful team as it has appeared in all Finals.
  • India is the defending Champions.
  • Won the final in 2016 beating Pakistan by 2 – 1.
  • Last event was in Kuantan, Malaysia.
  • Pakistan finished Runners in last 32016 event.
  • Pakistan has been the Champions times in 2012 – 13.
  • Malaysia, during last 4 tournaments, has held the 3rd position.

For more updates keep visiting allsportspk