Australia Vs New Zealand Test Series 2019

Match Basics
ICC World Test Championship- Match 1: Australia Vs New Zealand – Day 1
Date: 12 December 2019
Venue: Perth, Australia
Umpires: Aleem Dar (Pakistan), Nigel Llong (England)
Toss won by: Australia, chose to bat first

Scorecard Summary

Australia’s Innings: 228/4 (90 Overs, RR: 2.75)
– Batting: M Labuschagne 110 of 202 balls (not out)
– Bowling: N Wagner 2/54 in 22 overs

Highlights of the Day

 The play began under the sizzling summer sun blasting at 40c in a stadium full of about 20,000 spectators witnessing the clash of test titans.

 Australian openers began the day on a confident note on the first day of first-ever day-night test in Perth.
 Kiwi bowlers struck earlier as Joe Burns was dismissed on lbw by a swinging Grandhomme in 13 th over.

 This was followed by David Warner in 26 th over, Australia were 76/2 by lunch break.
 Marnus Labuschagne and Steven Smith managed to sustain a much-needed partnership and put on 132 during the second session.
 Labuschagne made his third consecutive Test century in style by throwing Mitchell Santner for a six thus also crossing 1000 Test runs milestone in current calendar year.

 Kiwis made a comeback later in day by dismissing Steve Smith (43) and Matthew Wade (12).

 Debutant Lockie Ferguson suffered from calf strain and was sent for scans. He would not be able to rejoin the playing XI until reassessment report gives go-ahead.

 Aussies will certainly be looking to maintain the upper hand tomorrow continuing the winning streak. They have remained unbeaten against New Zealand on Australian soil since 1985.

 Pakistani origin umpire Aleem Dar broke Steve Bucknor’s record of officiating most test matches, this was his 129th



  • David Warner
  • Joe Burns
  • Marnus Labuschagne
  • Steve Smith
  • Matthew Wade
  • Travis Head
  • Tim Paine (Captain & Wicket-keeper)
  • Pat Cummins
  • Mitch Starc
  • Nathan Lyon
  • Josh Hazlewood

New Zealand

  • Tom Latham
  • Jeet Raval
  • Kane Williamson (Captain)
  • Ross Taylr
  • Henry Nicholls
  • BJ Watling (Wicket-keeper)
  • Colin de Grandhomme
  • Mitchell Santner
  • Tim Southee
  • Neil Wagner
  • Lockie Ferguson

For regular updates visit :  Allsportspk


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here