Hobart Hurricanes’ opening batsman Matthew Wade was given out against Brisbane Heat in their BBL- Big Bash League clash in a decision that has sparked a fierce debate among the cricket community.

Matt Renshaw was stationed on the boundary where Wade had knocked off a spectacular drive to the cover. Renshaw caught the ball but couldn’t maintain himself so he threw the ball in the air and tried to jump back inside ropes.

Failing to do so, he jumped again and push the ball once more inside the ropes where Tom Banton caught it and Wade was forced to return to the pavilion after a quick 61 off 46 balls.

However, the controversial decision did not sit well with the fans and analysts alike who consulted to the cricket rule book to find out if the decision was accordingly or not and it turned out that it was.

According to cricket laws referenced by ESPN, such a catch is deemed legal if the fielder is not having any contact with the ground when handling the ball as was the case in this particular instance.

Nevertheless, the fans on social media were not particularly pleased with the controversial decision and termed it against the sportsmanship and spirit of cricket.

Read This Also

For regular updates keep visiting: Allsportspk


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here