Champions Trophy Match Peek Review: Sri Lanka vs India

champions trophy

Match Basics

Match: Sri Lanka vs India

Group: B

Date: 8th June

Ground: Oval, London

Umpires: RA Kettleborough, England and RJ Tucker, Australia

Toss won by: Sri Lanka and decided to field

Scorecard Summary

1st Team Play: India 321 in 50 overs

–¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†Performers:¬†Batsmen¬†‚Äď S Dhawan 125, RG Sharma 78, MS Dhoni 63.¬†Bowlers¬†– SL Malinga 2-70

Target: 322

2nd Team Play: 322/3 in 48.4 overs

–¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†Performers:¬†Batsman¬†‚Äď BKG Mendis 89, MD Gunathilaka 76.¬†Bowler¬†‚Äď B Kumar 1-54, UT Yadav 59, JJ Bumrah 52

Result: Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets 

Man of Match: BKG Mendis, Sri Lanka

Champions Trophy Standings: as of 9.6.2017 ‚Äď Updated: 12:30 am PST



Sri Lanka set the record of successfully chasing the highest run target in the Champions Trophy.

Sri Lanka set a record of successfully completing the ninth 300-plus chase away from home.

D. Gunathilaka included in the match team the evening before made his mark both as a bowler and a batsman (scored 76 runs in 72 balls).

Sri Lanka keep their hopes alive to enter the tournament semi-finals.

Indian captain Kohli says ¬†“if a team executes there shots well, you have to sometimes take you hat off and say very well played”


Sri Lanka

N. Dickwella

M.D. Gunathilaka

B.K.G. Mendis

A.D. Mathews, Captain

L.D. Chandimal

M.D.K.J. Perera

D.A.S. Gunaratne

NLTC Perera

R.A.S. Lakmal

S.L. Malinga

N. Pradeep


R.G. Sharma

S. Dhawan

V. Kohli, Captain

Yuvraj Singh

H.H. Pandya

M.S. Dhoni

K.M. Jadhav

R.A. Jadeja

B. Kumar

U.T. Yadav

J.J. Bumrah

For updates regularly visit: Allsportspk


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here