Finally the Pakistan squad was announced for the upcoming five-match T20I series being hosted in Pakistan from 18th to 27th April in Rawalpindi and Lahore. The main purpose of the series is to enable selection of squads for the forthcoming T20 World Cup, scheduled in United States of America and West Indies simultaneously during June 2024.

Cricket-2024 New Zealand Tour Of Pakistan: Highlights & Schedule

The NSC-National Selection Committee for Men of Pakistan Cricket Board announced the following 17-man squad:

Pakistan Team: Babar Azam (captain), Abrar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohmmad Amir, Mohammad Irfan Khan, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Usama Mir, Usman Khan, Zaman Khan.

Non-travelling Reserves: Haseebullah, Mohammad Ali, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Sahibzada Farhan, and Salman Ali Agha.

The New Zealand 15-member squad includes new faces as most regular players were not available mostly due to being involved with IPL-Indian Premier League or some other reason. The absent players are Trent Boult, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitch Santner, Kane Williamson and Will Young.

Pakistan T20I Tour New Zealand 2024: Team Squads + Schedule

New Zealand Team – Michael Bracewell (captain for the first time). The other players are: Finn Allen, Mark Chapman, Josh Clarkson, Jacob Duffy, Dean Foxcroft, Ben Lister, Cole McConchie, Adam Milne, Jimmy Neesham, Will O’Rourke, Tim Robinson, Ben Sears, Tim Seifert (wicket-keeper), Ish Sodhi, Tom Latham and Tim Southee.