The ICC – International Cricket Council has banned a number of Indian and Bangladeshi players for pushing and shoving each other after Bangladesh’s historic victory in the final of the Under19 Cricket World Cup.

Bangladesh won their first-ever world cup title after defeating India by 3 wickets under the D/L method at Potchefstroom in South Africa.

Tensions had already been flaring as both teams engaged in a war of words as the match proceeded in a tense environment but things got ugly when Bangladeshi players rushed to the pitch to celebrate the victory. Players from both sides were seen shoving each other despite attempts by the officials to calm them down.

Now the ICC has imposed a ban ranging from 4-10 matches on five players from both sides. They include India’s Akash Singh and Ravi Bishnoi and Bangladesh’s Rakibul Hasan, Towhid Hridoy and Shamim Hossain.

Meanwhile, Indian spinner Bishnoi has been handed an additional penalty of two demerit points for a rude gesture at Bangladesh batsman Avishek Das during the final match.

Geoff Allardice, the ICC GM lamented the unprofessional behavior expressed by young players and stressed on the importance of respect and self-discipline in the sport.

For Regular Updates Keep Visiting: Allsportspk


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here