Australian Women cricket team convincingly defeated Indian Women to wear the World Cup T20 Title cap for year 2020.

The Indian Women team, like their men also choked in the finals again as Australia avenged their group stage loss with a win in the final, bagging their fifth title.

After beating England and South Africa in their respective semi-finals, India and Australia came neck to neck again after the group stage encounter to battle for the ICC Women’s World Cup 2020’s title.

Allsportspk presents the main highlights of the finals:

Match Basics
The Final
Australia Women vs India Women
Toss won by: Australia Women
Scorecard Summary
Australia Women’s Innings: 184/4 (20 Overs, RR: 9.2)
– Batting: BL Mooney 78 off 54 balls and Alyssa Healy 75 off 39 balls
– Bowling: Deepa Sharma 2/38 in 4 overs
Target: 185 runs from 20 overs
India Women’s Innings: 99/10 (19.1 overs, RR: 5.16)
– Batting: Deepa Sharma 33 off 35 balls and V Krishnamurthy 19 off 24 balls
– Bowling: M Schutt 4/18 in 3.1 overs and JL Jonassen 3/20 in 4 overs

Result: Australia Women won by 85 runs
Player of the match: BL Mooney

Australia Women’s innings:

  • The Australian Women openers Alyssa Healy and Mooney started the Australian innings with a bang with Healy taking the charge early up and smashing the bowlers all over the park.
  • In the mandatory power play, Australian Women managed a total of 49 runs with losing any wickets.
  • Alyssa Healy then completed her half century in just 37 balls to give Australia with a much needed start.
  • BL Mooney too completed her half century within just 41 balls and Australia too reached the 100-run mark in just 10.2 overs as well.
  • In the twelfth over, Alyssa miscued one of Poonam Yadav’s delivery and was caught by Krishnamurthy at long on after playing an incredible knock of 75 runs off 39 balls.
  • The captain, Meg Lanning made her way to the middle and ticked her side’s score along with Mooney past 150 runs in 15.2 overs.
  • Meg too was then dismissed by Deepa Sharma after scoring 16 runs off 15 balls.
  • Ashleigh Gardner came in next just to play 3 balls and score 2 runs as she too was dismissed right after Meg by Deepa Sharma again.
  • Some quality bowling from the Indian Women in the death overs restricted Australia to 184/4 after their 20 overs.
  • Poonam Yadav was the pick of the bowlers who took two scalps.

The Australia Women’s innings terminated with a target of 185 runs

India Women’s Innings:

  • The Indian Women suffered a huge blow early up as their tournament’s highest scorer, Shafali Verma was dismissed on the third bowl of the innings by Schutt. Australia Women had probably got one hand on the trophy by taking the prized wicket of Shafali.
  • Tanya Bhatia then got retired hurt as well, while Jemimah Rodrigues even could not carry a long way and got out for a duck.
  • India were in all sorts of hot water as they were 8-2 and required their experienced batters, Smriti Mandhana and Harmanpreet Kaur to save this drowning ship.
  • Smriti scored a couple of boundaries but she could not lead her innings much forward as she was dismissed by Molineux on the very first bowl of the day. She departed after scoring 11 off 8 deliveries.
  • Harmanpreet Kaur, the birthday girl and India’s captain too succumbed to the crumbling Indian batting line-up and was too dismissed by Jonassen after scoring 4 off 7 balls. India were technically five down now and it seemed almost impossible for them to bounce back in the game.
  • Deepa Sharma and Krishnamurthy provided some resistance but Krishnamurthy too lost her plot midway and was dismissed by Kimmince after scoring just 19 off 24 balls.
  • Indian Women were clearly under a lot of pressure right from the start and the wickets kept crumbling time and again.
  • Deepa stayed the longest on the crease, scoring 33 off 35 balls. She too lost her wicket at the hands of Carey.
  • The wickets kept tumbling and the Indian innings could barely manage 100 runs on the scoreboard. Schutt took her fourth to dismiss the last batsman to not only bag the title for her country but she too became the leading wicket taker of this tournament too.
  • Australia dominated this final by far and comfortably beat India to win the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup for the fifth time.

The Australian Women won by 85 runs to become the champions of the ICC T20 Women’s World Cup


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here