T20I Series

Match Basics

Match 2:
: India vs Bangladesh
Date: 8th March, 2018
Ground: Colombo
Umpires: : Lyndon Hannibal, Ranmore Martinesz
Toss won by: India, elected to field first.
Scorecard Summary

1st Team Play:
 139/8 (20 Overs, RR: 6.95)..
Liton Das 34 runs off 30 balls, Sabbir Rahman 30 runs off 26 balls.Bowling: JD Unadkat 3/38 in 4 overs, Vijay Shankar 2/32 in 4 overs.Target: 139 runs from 20 overs.

2ND Team Play: 140/4 (18.4 Overs, RR: 7.50)


Batting: Shikhar Dhawan 55 runs off 43 balls, Manish Pandey 27 runs off 19 balls.

Bowling: Rubel Hossain 4/24 in 3.4 overs, Mustafizur Rahman 1/31 in 4 overs

Player of the match: Vijay Shankar

Result: India won by 6 wickets (with 8 balls remaining)


 Highlights & Analysis
  1. India came into this match searching for a win as it had already lost the opening match of this tri-series against hosts Srilanka.
  2. The Indian team won the toss and captain Rohit Sharma opted to bowl first. Bangladesh openers Tamim Iqbal and Soumya Sarkar failed to provide their side with a solid as Thakur and Unadkat removed the openers in the first five overs. Liton Das and Mushfiqur Rahim came to the crease looking to re-build their innings however, after a brief partnership of 31, Shankar struck early as he forced Mushfiqur Rahim to edge out to Dinesh Karthik.
  3. Mahmudullah, the captain of his team came out to bat, however his stay lasted for a mere 8 balls as the man in form Vijay Shankar struck again. Then came Sabbir Rahman, who managed to share a 35 run partnership with Liton Das. After, Liton and Sabbir got out the Indian bowlers did not allow the tail to score freely and Bangladesh could only manage a total of 139 runs.
  4. The Indian batsmen had their plans laid out as Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan came onto the crease. Mustafizur struck early as he managed to uproot the stumps of the Indian captain and Bangladesh sensed an opening.
  5. The young and aggressive player, Rishabh Pant joined Shikhar Dhawan, however his stay was cut short by Rubel Hossain as he clean bowled the batsman. Suresh Raina came to the party and managed to share a 68-run partnership with Dhawan before he got out in trying to attempt a pull-shot against Rubel Hossain.
  6. Manish Pandey joined Dhawan, however the latter in an effort to finish things off quickly tried to lift the ball over midwicket but his catch was taken comfortably at long-on by Liton Das.
  7. Pandey finished off the match by scoring 27 off 19 balls and remained not out in the process. India won the match by six wickets with 8 balls to spare.
  8. Vijay Shankar was named Man of the Match for his superb effort of 2 wickets in the middle overs.





Tamim Iqbal

Soumya Sarkar

Liton Das

Mushfiqur Rahim †

Mahmudullah (c)

Sabbir Rahman

Mehidy Hasan Miraz

Taskin Ahmed

Rubel Hossain

Mustafizur Rahman

Nazmul Islam


RG Sharma (c)

S Dhawan

RR Pant

SK Raina

MK Pandey

KD Karthik †

V Shankar

Washington Sundar

SN Thakur

JD Unadkat

YS Chahal

For updates regularly visit: Allsportspk


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here