India vs Bangladesh 5th T20I: Summary and Analysis

 Nidahas Trophy Tri-series

Match Basics

5th T20I Match:  India vs Bangladesh
Date: 14th March, 2018
Venue: R. Premadasa Stadium, Khettarama, Colombo
Series: Nidahas Trophy Tri-series
Umpires: Ranmore Martinesz, Raveendra Wimalasiri

Toss won by: Bangladesh, elected to field first

Scorecard Summary

1st Team Play: 176/3 (20 Overs, RR: 8.8)

Batting:  Rohit Sharma 89 off 61 balls, Suresh Raina 47 off 30 balls.

Bowling: Rubel Hossain 2/27 in 4 overs.

Target: 178 runs from 20 overs.

2ND Team Play: 159/6 (20 Overs, RR: 7.95)


Batting: Mushfiqur Rahim 72* off 55 balls.

Bowling: Washington Sundar 3/22 in 4 overs, YS Chahal 1/21 in 4 overs.

Player of the match: Rohit Sharma

Result: India won by 17 runs.


Highlights & Analysis

1.      Bangladesh were riding on the clouds and why wouldn’t they be? They had just won the precious match by chasing down 215 runs posted by the Srilankan bowlers. India on the other hand was also coming into this match after beating Srilanka and having won from Bangladesh in the opening match of this series they were quite confident that they would win this time also which they did in the end.

2.      Toss was won by Bangladesh and invited India to bat first on a pitch that was favoring bowlers. Indian Openers took charge on the pitch as Bangladesh started the proceedings. Sharma, who had been going through a bad patch in this series found the right day to explode and he was well supported by his partner Shikhar Dhawan.

3.      Both openers provided India with a solid start by sharing a 70-run partnership in between them. Bangladeshi bowler Rubel Hossain had been a worry for the Indian batsmen in this series and he was the one that provided his side with an opening in this match also by taking the wicket of Shikar Dhawan in the 10th over.

4.      This was the moment when Bangladesh needed to hold off things and get a few wickets to get on top in this match. But the next batsman Suresh Raina was not in the mood to let them go easily. Both Raina and Rohit shared a 102-run partnership to propel India to a respectable total.

5.      India would have touched the 200-mark but they were unable to do so all credit to Rubel Hossain’s exquisite death bowling skill. The bowler took two wickets in that over and also claimed a run-out of the Indian captain who departed after scoring a well made 89 off 61 balls.

6.      177 could prove a substantial total on this pitch but owing to the form of the current Bangladeshi lineup it did not seem as much off a problem. However, when the Bangladeshi innings started India reminded Bangladesh that they are not facing them and not Srilanka whom they managed to beat after an interesting contest.

7.      Bangladeshi openers had a simple task i.e. to provide their team with an opening partnership upon which the middle order batsman could cash on but both openers only put a 12-run partnership. Washington Sundar delivered the first blow by forcing Liton Das to edge out to Karthik.

8.      Sarkar came to the crease looking to revive Bangladesh however, Sundar struck again as he shattered the stumps of the top order batsman. He was followed by Tamim Iqbal who also departed after Washington Sundar went through his defenses to light up the stumps.

9.      Mushfiqur Rahim came in the middle and the wicketkeeper fought till the end but apart Sabbir Rahman who scored 27 off 23 balls no one could give Mushfiqur a helping hand as Bangladesh only managed to score 159 runs in 20 overs.

10.   Mushfiqur scored an unbeaten 72 off 55 balls but could not get his team over the line. On the other hand, Indian spinners were phenomenal especially Washington Sundar who demolished Bangladesh top order and preventer them from a good start.

11.   Rohit Sharma got the man of the match award for his individual score of 89 runs at a strike rate of 145.90. This win also put India in the Finals of this series and the next match between Bangladesh and Srilanka will be a decider for the other final spot.




Tamim Iqbal

Soumya Sarkar

Liton Das

Mushfiqur Rahim †

Mahmudullah (c)

Sabbir Rahman

Mehidy Hasan Miraz

Taskin Ahmed

Rubel Hossain

Mustafizur Rahman

Nazmul Islam

RG Sharma (c)

S Dhawan

SK Raina

KD Karthik †

KL Rahul

MK Pandey

V Shankar

Washington Sundar

SN Thakur

YS Chahal

Mohammed Siraj

For updates regularly visit: Allsportspk


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here