PBCC РPakistan Blind Cricket Council announced that the 1st Interloop Women Blind Cricket Training and Coaching Camp has been inaugurated at Abbottabad. The six days long training camp will be conducted till 5th of July 2018 at the Abbottabad Public School Cricket ground.

In the camp, 32 Female Blind Cricket players and 9 Female Coaches will be trained about rules, techniques and method of cricket for the visually challenged.

Interloop is the leading sponsor of the Women Blind Cricket Training Camp and Brien Holden Vision Institute Pakistan (The Australian Eye Care Research Institute) working to eliminate vision impairment and avoidable blindness is also supporting this initiative.

Syed Sultan Shah, Chairman PBCC stated that, this is the¬†first step towards the rights and privileges of women/girls with visual impairment to take part on an equal basis in the most popular sport in Pakistan.¬†It will improve social inclusion and give participants a chance to be more physically active. He elaborated that¬†¬†‚ÄúSports will bring confidence in the lives of women with blindness and they will surely brighten the name of Pakistan in the field of Cricket‚ÄĚ

The 2nd Phase of the Training Camp will take place in Lahore during September 2018 in which the next group of 35 Blind Women will be trained.  This Camp will be conducted by Mr. Nafees Ahmed the Head Coach of Pakistan Women Blind Cricket Team. He remained the coach of men Pakistan Blind Cricket team, which had won two World Cups in 2002 and 2006.

The PBCC shortlisted the following 32 players for the training camp:

1. Rabbia Shahzadi, Lahore
2. Saba Gul, Lahore
3. Mubeen Javed, Lahore
4. Tayyaba Zafar, Lahore
5. Farmina Sher, Lahore
6. Reena Sher, Lahore
7. Bushra Zahoor, Lahore
8. Sadia Khalid, Lahore
9. Aqsa Arif, Lahore
10. Sumiya Mumtaz, Lahore
11. Rabia Javed Hashmi, Lahore
12. Robina Aslam, Lahore
13. Kiran Shahzadi, Faisalabad
14. Arzoo, Faisalabad
15. Aqsa Tabassum, Faisalabad
16. Maria Arshad, Faisalabad
17. Saba Shaukat, Rawalpindi
18. Kiran Rafique, Rawalpindi
19. Nimra Rafique, Islamabad
20. Sajida Bano, Karachi
21. Anum Zakir, Karachi
22. Maria Zakir, Karachi
23. Hawra Murtaza, Karachi
24. Anila Rasheed, Karachi
25. Laiba Ghanyani, Karachi
26. Tayyaba Fatima, Attock
27. Maria BiBi, Attock
28. Amina BiBi, Attock
29. Shabnam Sharif, Bahawalpur
30. Iqra Inayat, Gujranwala
31. Munaza Ilyas, Gujranwala
32. Bushra Shahzadi, Gujranwala
For more updates keep visiting allsportspk


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here