The 2020 event is the 53rd French Open also known as Roland Garros and the 208th Grand Slam tournament of the Open Era.

Roland Garros also has the distinction of staging the first Grand Slam tournament of the Open Era in 1968.

2020 Roland Garros is the 119th edition of the French championships. The event which began in 1891 was restricted for national or players enlisted in French clubs, and it was from the 90th championship in 1925 that the event became international.

This is the 87th time that the tournament has been held at Roland Garros.

Due to the Covid-19 pandemic the event has been rescheduled and this is would be the first and the final Grand Slam tournament of the 2020 season being played.

Defending Champion & Other Contenders

Rafael Nadal the three-time defending champion, will be attempting to equal Roger Federer’s all-time record of 20 Grand Slam singles titles.

Novak Djokovic will attempt to become the first player in the Open Era to win each Grand Slam at least twice.

Dominic Thiem will attempt to become the first player besides the Big Three – Federer, Novak and Rafael to win consecutive Grand Slams since Andre Agassi won the 1999 US Open and 2000 Australian Open. Also to become the first player in the open era to win the first two Grand Slam singles titles in back-to-back Grand Slam tournaments.

Points and Prize Money

Total prize money for this year’s men’s singles event is €14,491,000 – which is an overall decrease of compared to 2019. However, prize money for first round losers has increased by 30% on 2019, while prize money for the qualifying tournament has increased by 27%. The individual prize money and ATP Ranking points for the men’s singles at 2020 Roland Garros is:

Prize Money (€)Ranking Points
– Champion: 1,600,000 – 2000
– Finalist: 850,500 – 1200
– Semifinalist: 425,250 – 720
– Quarterfinalist: 283,500 – 360
– Round of 16: 189,000 – 180
– Third Round: 126,000 – 90
– Second Round: 84,000 – 45
– First Round: 60,000 – 10

Equal prize money for men and women was introduced in 2007. There was equal prize money for the champions only in 2006, with disparity in all other rounds.

1st Round Featured Matches Schedule – Sunday 27th September

No. 6 Alexander Zverev (GER) v Dennis Novak (AUT)
No. 11 David Goffin (BEL) v Jannik Sinner (ITA)
No. 12 Diego Schwartzman (ARG) v Miomir Kecmanovic (SRB)
No. 16 Stan Wawrinka (SUI) v (WC) Andy Murray (GBR)
No. 23 Benoit Paire (FRA) v Soonwoo Kwon (KOR)
No. 32 Daniel Evans (GBR) v Kei Nishikori (JPN)
(Q) Jurij Rodionov (AUT) v Jeremy Chardy (FRA)
Corentin Moutet (FRA) v (Q) Lorenzo Giustino (ITA)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here