The Rugby World Cup is a men’s rugby tournament contested every four years between the top international teams. The World Cup was first held in 1987, when the tournament was co-hosted between New Zealand and Australia.

The tournament is administered by World Rugby, the international governing body. Sixteen teams were invited to participate in the inaugural tournament in 1987, however since 1999 twenty teams have taken part.

Allsportspk presents all time statistics of the prestigious competition.

The research has been divided into two partsTeam and Individual stats. Part 1 covers Team Stats and Part 2 the stats of Individual players.

Part One: Team Statitics

Most Successful Countries

RankTeam NameTitles
1 New Zealand3
1 South Africa3
2 Australia2
3 England1
Allsportspk Research Unit
  • New Zealand and South Africa are the record winners of the World Cup having 3 titles to their name.
  • In 2015 New Zealand became the first ever country to win the World Cup three times, however, their record was equaled by South Africa in 2019.
South Africa triumph in Rugby World Cup Final
Photo File
  • South Africa are the current holders of the Rugby World Cup.
  • The teams involved in the most World Cup opening matches are Argentina and New Zealand.
  • Overall 25 countries participated in the Rugby World Cup but only 4 teams were able to win it.
  • South Africa is the only country to have a 100% winning record in the finals.
  • New Zealand won the very first Rugby World Cup in 1987.
  • France, Australia and New Zealand are the only nations to have made it to at least the quarter-finals of every Rugby World Cup.
  • South Africa has the highest win percentage of 42.86 in the Rugby World Cup .

For Latest Coronavirus Updates Do Visit – Allsportsk C’virus Radar

Biggest Margin Victories

Australia score 22 tries v Namibia in the 2003 Tournament | Europe Hub
Photo File
  • 142 points – In 2003 World Cup Australia outclassed Namibia by a score of 142-0.
  • 128 points – New Zealand hammered Japan by a score of 145-17.
  • 98 points- In 1998 Italy were humiliated 101–3 by New Zealand.
  • 98 points- England beat Uruguay 111-13 in the 2003 World Cup.
  • 95 points- In 2007 World Cup New Zealand won by 108-13 against Portugal.

Most Points in a Single Match

145 New Zealand Japan145–17
142 Australia Namibia142–0
111 England Uruguay111–13
108 New Zealand Portugal108–13
101 New Zealand Italy101–3
101 England Tonga101-10
Allsportspk Research Unit
  • New Zealand holds the record of most points scored by a team in the World Cup.
  • The 2015 final between Australia and New Zealand was the highest scoring Rugby World Cup final ever, with New Zealand winning that match 34–17.
  • Australia and New Zealand are the only teams to score 140 plus points in the World Cup.
  • Besides England, New Zealand and Australia no team has crossed the barrier of 100 plus points.

Most Tries in a Single Match

22 Australia Namibia
21 New Zealand Japan
17 England Uruguay
16 New Zealand Portugal
14 New Zealand Italy
Allsportspk Research Unit
Australia's awesome Rugby World Cup tries - YouTube
Photo File
  • Australia holds the record of most tries in a single match (22).
  • Australia and New Zealand are only teams in World Cup history to have more than 20 tries in a single match.
  • England, New Zealand and Australia are the only Rugby teams to record 15 plus tries in a single match.

Move on to Next Page for Individual Statistics.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here