SLC-Sri Lanka Cricket has announced launching of a new premier league named LPL-Lanka Premier League.

LPL would involve five teams which will play 23 matches at four venues from 28th August to 20th September. Names of teams are Colombo, Galle, Jaffna, Dambulla, and Kandy.

According to SLC over 70 top foreign cricketers, major Sri Lankan cricketers and 10 world-class coaches will participate. Although, SLC has not confirmed names of the foreign stars who have agreed to play.

Further, information has yet to be shared about the quarantine rules for the players who will visit for LPL. According to present travel rules, all those entering Sri Lanka are required to quarantine for four weeks – two weeks at official centres followed by two more weeks of self-quarantine.

The country’s international airports were to open from 1st August for foreign tourists, however, the government later indefinitely withdrew the order due to fears of a second wave of coronavirus attack.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here