The 60th Cuban Serie Nacional, one of the most popular baseball leagues, is scheduled to start on Saturday, 12 September, at the Victoria de Gir√≥n Stadium in Matanzas. The 75-game regular season will end on 27 December. The final series is scheduled from 28 January to 5 February. 

On the first day, the defending champions Matanzas will play the 2019-2020 runner ups Camaguey. 

WBSC’s GameTime video platform was awarded the exclusive broadcast and digital international rights of showing the 2020-21 season of Cuban Baseball League – the Serie Nacional games. 

WBSC/GameTime.Sport already holds all the broadcast and online rights outside the Cuban territory. 

The Serie Nacional came into being in 1961, when the professional baseball was annihilated in Cuba. The Industriales Havana has won 12 times which makes them the team to have won the most league titles. The defending champions Matanzas won the 2019-20 title for the first time . 

The League consists of 16 teams which represent the different Provinces of the island. They are split into two divisions – West and East.

The West clubs are:

-Matanzas, Pinar del Rio, Artemisa, Industriales Havana, Isla de la Juventud, Mayabeque, Cienfuegos, Sancti Spiritus.

The East clubs are:

-Camaguey, Villa Clara, Ciego de Avila, Las Tunas, Holguin, Granma, Santiago de Cuba and Guantanamo. 

WBSC President Riccardo Fraccari in the press release stated that “This partnership will help showcase and make the iconic brand of Cuban baseball available to a global audience for the first time in history,” “Cuba’s Series Nacional has produced some of the best and most legendary players in the game, and that’s why it’s an attractive product and perfect fit to further expand the programming of our OTT platform” 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here