Cycling – UCI Road World Championships: Rohan Dennis Wins Time Trial Title

Rohan Dennis

In the wake of winning 6 races against time this season, Rohan Dennis added a superb seventh to his palmarès, as the Australian overwhelmed the field in Innsbruck to guarantee the greatest win of his professional cycling career yet: the world time trial title.

Dennis, who touched base at the Road World Championships in Austria in fine shape, having triumphed in two time trial stages at the ongoing Vuelta a España, put 1 min 21 secs into defending champion Tom Dumoulin over the uneven 52.5km course.

The champ, who was not able match his comrade Annemiek van Vleuten who successfully defended her time trial title only 24 hours beforehand, needed to make due with silver while Victor Campenaerts of Belgium completed 3rd to take bronze.

Cycling – UCI Road World Championships 2018: Annemiek Van Vleuten Wins

Alex Dowsett, the 5-time British time trial winner, completed in 29th spot 5 mins 24.70 secs off the pace while Tao Geoghegan Hart came in 35th place 6 mins 3.37 secs behind Dennis.

The titles proceed on Thursday with the youngsters street races​ and finish up with a hilly 252.9km men’s street race on Sunday.

Men’s Time Trial – Top 10

Position Rider Nationality Time
1 Rohan Dennis Australia 1:03:46
2 Tom Dumoulin Holland 0:01:21
3 Victor Campenaerts Belgium 0:01:22
4 Michal Kwiatkowski Poland 0:02:05
5 Nelson Oliveira Portugal 0:02:14
6 Jonathan Castroviejo Spain 0:02:18
7 Tony Martin Germany 0:02:25
8 Patrick Bevin New Zealand 0:02:35
9 Vasil Kiryienka Belarus 0:03:08
10 Martin Toft Madsen Denmark 0:03:23

For more updates keep visiting allsportspk