Cycling – Vuelta a Espana ’18 Stage 15: Thibaut Pinot Wins

England’s Simon Yates expanded his Vuelta a Espana lead, as Thibaut Pinot guaranteed a summit triumph on stage 15.

The French rider tore far from a tip top gathering of red shirt rivals at Lagos de Covadonga, an uncategorised move with segments up to 20%.

Miguel Angel Lopez completed second, with Yates third, picking up time on Nairo Quintana and Alejandro Valverde.

Cycling – Team Sky: Geraint Thomas Signs New Deal

English Mitchelton-Scott rider Yates, now drives Valverde by 26 seconds, while Quintana is 33 seconds behind. He started the day 20 seconds clear of Valverde and 25 clear of the Spaniard’s Colombian Movistar team pioneer Quintana.

Groupama-FDJ rider Pinot’s definitive assault from 6km out, allowed him to complete 28 seconds in front of Astana’s Colombian Lopez and 30 in front of Yates. This likewise guaranteed 10 extra seconds for completing first as he climbed to seventh place in the general standings.

Cycling – Vuelta a Espana ’18 Stage 14: Simon Yates Wins

Having started the day at 2 minutes and 46 seconds behind Yates, he was maybe afforded space to push clear on the cloud-shrouded slants in Asturias.

Not far off behind him, there were a progression of energising assaults and counter assaults, as Yates attempted more than once to open a hole on Valverde and Quintana, yet each time he was firmly stamped and pursued down.

Be that as it may, he did in any event figure out how to guarantee the four extra seconds on offer for third place, likewise opening a little hole on the two of his fundamental opponents in doing as such.

Monday is a rest day before Tuesday’s a 32km individual time preliminary from Santillana del Mar to Torrelavega in Cantabria.

Stage 15 Results – Vuelta a España

1. Thibaut Pinot

2. Miguel Angel Lopez

3. Simon Yates

4. Alejandro Valverde

5. Steven Kruijswijk

6. Enric Mas

7. Nairo Quintana

8. Rigoberto Uran

9. Emanuel Buchmann

10. Ion Izagirre

General Classification After Stage 15 – Vuelta a España

1. Simon Yates

2. Alejandro Valverde

3. Nairo Quintana

4. Miguel Angel Lopez

5. Steven Kruijswijk

6. Enric Mas

7. Thibaut Pinot

8. Rigoberto Uran

9. Ion Izagirre

10. Emanuel Buchmann

For more updates keep visiting allsportspk