Sri Lanka
T20I Series

Match Basics

3rd T20I Match of Tri-series: Sri Lanka Vs Bangladesh
Date: 10th March, 2018
Ground: Colombo
Umpires: : Ranmore Martinesz, Raveendra Wimalasiri
Toss won by: Bangladesh, elected to field first.
Scorecard Summary

1st Team Play:
214/6 (20 Overs, RR: 10.7)Performers:Batting: KusalPerera74 runs off 48 balls, Kusal Mendis 57 runs off 30 balls, Upul Tharanga 32 runs off 15 balls.Bowling: Mahmudullah 2/15 in 2 overs, Mustafizur Rahman 3/48 in 4 overs.Target: 215 runs from 20 overs.

2ND Team Play: 140/4 (18.4 Overs, RR: 7.50)

Performers:215/5 (19.4 Overs, RR: 10.93)

Batting: Mushfiqur Rahim 72* runs off 35 balls, Tamim Iqbal47 runs off 29 balls, Litton Das 43 runs off19 balls.

Bowling: Fernando 2/37 in 4 overs.

Player of the match:Mushfiqur Rahim 

Result:Bangladesh won by 5 wickets (with 2 balls remaining)


Highlights & Analysis
  1. The hosts Srilanka, having won their first match against a relatively stronger team India, faced Bangladesh today however their coach had stated pre-match that they are not going to take Bangladesh lightly.
  2. Well, the coach proved to be right as fireworks that were witnessed in Colombo today as Bangladesh won the match against Srilanka by making a mockery out of the total posted by the hosts of 215.
  3. Srilanka were offered to bat first by Bangladesh who won the toss and elected to field first. Srilanka’s openers were in no mood of sitting back as they started their innings aggressively and the two batsmen Gunathilaka and Kusal Mendis shared a partnership of 56-runs before the Mustafizur uprooted Gunathilaka’s stumps to give Bangladesh their first wicket.
  4. However, Srilanka were not going to hold any thing back as Kusal Perera shared an 85-run partnership with his partner Mendis to ensure that Srilanka are well on top. However, after both of these batsmen reached their individual fifties Bangladesh removed these two batsmen in two successive overs leaving SriLanka on 142-3 in 14 overs.
  5. The Srilankan skipper, Dinesh Chandimal walked in the middle but he got out early and gave his wicket to Taskin Ahmed. Now it was to Upul Tharanga to finish things off for Srilanka, which he did and propelled Srilanka to a mammoth total of 214 runs in 20 overs.
  6. Srilankan team looked quite content with their posted total, however little did they know that Bangladesh is planning to come out all guns blazing.
  7. As soon as the Bangladesh openers started their innings the two batsmen Tamim and Litton Das showed intent of winning the match for their team from the very first ball. Both scored aggressively and set Bangladesh on course by sharing a 74-run partnership between them.
  8. After the Srilankan bowlers got rid of these two, Soumya Sarkar and the wicket keeper batsmen Mushfiqur Rahim showed their supreme talent and shared a 51-run partnership between them to bring their team closer to the target.
  9. However, Srilanka came back into the match after Fernando took a return catch off his own bowling and sent Soumya Sarkar on his way. Srilanka could finally sense an opening here but the Bangladeshi captain, Mahmudullah showed maturity and supported the in-form Mushfiqur Rahim to a partnership of 41.
  10. But, after Chameera got rid of the captain, followed by Perera’s run-out of Sabbir Rahman; things started to look a bit hopeful for Srilanka. However, Mushfiqur was not going to hold anything back as he finally took his team to the crossing line in the 20th over with two balls to spare. The batsman remained not out in this match-winning innings.
  11. What a match we have witnessed today! Bangladesh proved to be the underdogs of this tri-series as even after losing to India in their first match they came back strong and beat SriLanka. The tri-series is well balanced now as all three teams have played two matches and won each of them. Bangladesh top the table mainly because of their net run rate.
  12. The upcoming matches are surely going to be breath-taking and if both these teams continue their form they might even beat India easily and take the Nidahas Trophy.



Sri Lanka


Tamim Iqbal

Soumya Sarkar

Liton Das

Mushfiqur Rahim †

Mahmudullah (c)

Sabbir Rahman

Mehidy Hasan Miraz

Taskin Ahmed

Rubel Hossain

Mustafizur Rahman

Nazmul Islam

MD Gunathilaka BKG Mendis MDKJ Perera MD Shanaka LD Chandimal (c) † WU Tharanga NLTC Perera BMAJ Mendis A Dananjaya PVD Chameera ANPR Fernando

For updates regularly visit: Allsportspk


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here