ISLAMABAD: The unseeded Leyla Nilufer Elmas from Turkey won the Girls Single crown of Syed Dilawar Abbas Memorial ITF Pakistan Junior Tennis Championships by eliminating top seed Ren Ke, in an well competed three sets match.

ITF Pakistan Junior Tennis C’ships ’20: Girls Single’s title winner Nilufer Elmas receiving the Trophy from Pakistan Tennis Federation President – Courtesy: PTF

In the First set both players broke serve of each other and the score went up to 6-6 all and set decided in tie break which won by Leyla with a score of 8-6 by hitting the winner down the line. In the second set the quality tennis were witnessed and the score went up to 4-4 all as both the players hold their respective serves; top seed Ren Ke won the second set at 6-4 by breaking last game of Leyla at 15-40. The final set was marked with aces, long rallies and combination of back hand, forehand drives and the score went up to 4-4all in the final set; Leyla won the final set by breaking 9th game of Ren Ke and clinched the Girls Singles title.

The match lasted 2 hours 28 minutes which was officiated by Mr. Asif Ali.

Leyla Elmas obtained 30 ITF World Ranking points whereas Ren Ke (CHN) earned 18 points.

Ayar Goklap (TUR)/ Mustafa Sancaklioglu (TUR) won the Boys Doubles title by eliminating Iustin Belea (ROU) / Qwyn Quittner (AUS) in straight sets with the score of 6-2, 6-3.

ITF Pakistan Junior Tennis C’ships ’20: Boys Double Title winners with the Chief Guest President of Pakistan Tennis Federation – Courtesy: PTF

Top seed Muhammad Shaoib of Pakistan and second seed Ayar Goklap (TUR) moved into the Boys Singles final by beating their respective opponents in straight sets. In the first semi final Top seed Shoaib won the first set 6-4 by breaking 9th game of Aryan Giri ( NEP); he kept the same pressure in the second set and build up the winning lead 4-0 by breaking 1st and 3rd game of Aryan and won the second set at 6 -1 by breaking last game of Aryan after 3 duce.

In the second semi final Ayar Goklap (TUR) proved too good for Kerem Ozlale (TUR) and won in straight sets with the score of 6-3, 6-1.

Boys Singles final will be played on Friday, 28th February 2020 at 10:00 AM.

Leyla Nilufer Elmas (TUR) / Mina Togdulkdmir (TUR) won the Girls Doubles Title by beating Abhilasha Bista (NEP) / Neyara Weerawansa (SRI) in a exciting three set match; Neyla / Mina won the first set at 7-5 by breaking 11th game of Neyara; Bista & Neyara leveled the match 1 set all by wining the second set at 6-2 by breaking 4t5h and 6th game of Leyla and Mina. In the final set match tie played which won by Leyla / Mina at 11-9 after saving 3 match points.

Mr. Salim Saifullah Khan President Pakistan Tennis Federation distributed the shields and trophies amongst the winner and runner-ups. 

The Detailed Results were:

Boys Singles Semi Final

Muhammad Shaoib beat Aryan Giri (NEP) 6-4, 6-1; Gokalp Ayar (TUR) beat Kerem Ozlale (TUR) 6-3, 6-1

Girls Singles Final

Leyla Nilufer Elmas (TUR) beat Ren Ke (CHN) 7-6(6), 4-6, 6-4

Boys Doubles Final

Gokalp Ayar (TUR) / Mustafa Sancaklioglu (TUR) beat Iustin Belea (ROU) / Qwyn Quittner (AUS) 6-2, 6-3

Girls Doubles Final

Leyla Nilufer Elmas (TUR) / Mina Toglukdemir (TUR) beat  Abhilasha Bista (NEP) / Neyara Weerawansa (SRI) 7-5, 2-6, 11-9.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here