Match Basics
ICC World Test Championship- Match 1: Pakistan Vs Sri Lanka
Date: 11 December 2019
Venue: Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium
Umpires: Richard Kettleborough, Michael Gough
Toss won by: Sri Lanka, chose to bat first

Scorecard Summary
Sri Lanka’s Innings: 202/5 (62.1 Overs, RR: 2.96) Performers:

Batting: FDM Karunaratne 59 off 110 balls, BOP Fernando 40 off 80 balls

Bowling: Naseem Shah 2/51 in 16 overs, Muhammad Abbas 1/50 in 20 overs, Shaheen Shah Afridi 1/37 in 16 overs, Usman Shinwari 1/47 in 14 overs

Highlights of the Day

• Match began a little later than the scheduled time on account of overcast condition

• Abid Ali and Usman Shinwari were awarded their test debut caps ahead of match while no changes were made to Sri Lankan squad

• Sri Lanka got off to a steady start as openers Karunaratne and Fernando posted 89 runs before lunch break

• Pakistan finally caught its first break in 31st over when Shaheen Shah Afridi got his maiden wicket as Karunaratne was caught on lbw

• Sri Lanka wasn’t able to recover from bowling onslaught and managed to post 184/3 by the tea break as Pak seamers continued to pick the top order one by one

• Naseem Shah managed to bag Two wickets by dismissing Fernando and Mathews at 40 and 31 respectively while, Muhammad Abbas, Shaheen Shah Afridi and Usman Shinwari managed to get one each

• Sri Lanka were 205/5 in 68.1 overs at the end of day 1 as play had to be stopped immaturely due to bad light conditions.

• The day saw a zealous crowd excited to witness test match at Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium after 15 years. Last Test match had been played between Pakistan and India in 2004



Shan Masood

Abid Ali

Azhar Ali (Captain)

Babar Azam

Haris Sohail

Asad Shafiq

Mohammad Rizwan (Wicket-keeper)

Usman Khan Shinwari

Mohammad Abbas

Naseem Shah Shaheen Afridi

Sri Lanka

Dimuth Karunaratne (Captain)

Oshada Fernando

Kusal Mendis

Dinesh Chandimal

Angelo Mathews

Dhananjaya de Silva

Niroshan Dickwella (Wicket-keeper)

Dilruwan Perera

Vishwa Fernando

Kasun Rajitha Lahiru Kumara

For regular updates visit :  Allsportspk


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here